Thread: If Windows = Registry and OS X = .plist...then what is Ubuntu?

Beans

Question If Windows = Registry and OS X = .plist...then what is Ubuntu?

So, as a computer teacher, I find this question quite interesting. My students are starting a lesson on the differences between Windows, OS X, and Linux, and I want to figure out how the other two store their settings.

I know the most about windows, being its longest user, but I have some idea about how Mac uses plist files in the application support folders to store settings in lists.

But what does Ubuntu use for such things? In fact, how does Linux in general deal with settings? Is it the same with all distros, or is each one different? I'd love to hear more information

Beans

Re: If Windows = Registry and OS X = .plist...then what is Ubuntu?

Generally, global system settings are stored under /etc in discrete config files. User-specific settings are stored in a user's home directory in "dotfiles" (files with names beginning with "." so they are hidden).

Gnome has a system called "gconf" that is a little more "registry-like" in some people's opinions, though it is still made of discrete files. Most everything else uses XML or ".ini-style" configs.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

Linux has very strong text processing tools. Things like grep, sed, vi, perl, and python make dealing with text files very easy. Naturally, Linux uses plain text files for configuration files. There are basically two types of configuration files: system and user. Most system files are stored in the /etc/ directory. you can find lots of configuration files. The most famous as far as support goes is /etc/X11/xorg.conf. This is the configuration for the x-server. The user configurations are stored in a user's home folder. They are generally hidden (i.e. in files/folders with a . at the beginning).