Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] HDMI sound via NVidia geforce 8200M

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Talking [SOLVED] HDMI sound via NVidia geforce 8200M

well, first off i'd like to start by saying.. i absolutely love linux and ubuntu

i am a noob by all means, i installed ubuntu 6.10 a few years ago on my old laptop but it was so slow, had a crappy graphics card & not enough HD space to share with windoze so i reverted to windoze and all but forgot about linux till i purchased my new laptop 2 days ago - HP G60-249WM.. pretty decent for $600 just in case you're in the market.. 2GHz processor, AMD Athlon X2 dual core processor.. and of course, the NVidia geForce 8200M to make things look pretty on its 16" screen.. anyway, i digress..

after great success getting my USBConnect Mercury aircard and TwinView set up.. i was ready to get some hdmi digital audio going to my HDtv / surround sound system..

i am running a dual boot with Ubuntu 8.10 / vista premium & had no issues getting sound via hdmi in windoze so i knew it worked

many, many hours later.. i finally got it to work..
    for starters, i upgraded to the latest recommended NVidia driver (173) from system / administration / hardware drivers
    unlike a lot of posts that i read regarding this issue, when i ran aplay -l, i would get:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: CONEXANT Analog [CONEXANT Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: Conexant Digital [Conexant Digital]

so i figured that meant it was seeing my hdmi & just identifying it as conexant digital..

after going through the "PulseAudio - Connection Failed: Connection Refused" nightmare & trying every listed fix with no success.. i finally removed it using:

killall pulseaudio
    sudo apt-get remove pulseaudio
    sudo apt-get autoremove pulseaudio
    sudo rm /etc/X11/Xsession.d/70pulseaudio (wasn't found)