Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: problems with terminal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    21

    problems with terminal

    iv been trying to get windows to launch on my ubuntu desktop and downloaded everything, now when i tried to install vmware player it worked the first time but it failed when it tried to make a new kernel because i forgot to install kernel hearder. now that i have whenever i go onto the terminal and enter:
    cd vmware-player-distrib
    it replies with 'bash: cd: vmware-player-distrib: No such file or directory'
    now this doesn't make sense to me because the commands are based on my desktop (atleast it seems to say it is) and the uncompressed pkg is on my desktop, any help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Decatur, GA
    Beans
    1,157
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: problems with terminal

    Where are you in the directory tree when you run the command? Try this:

    Code:
    cd
    cd Desktop
    ls
    You should see your file in the list. If you weren't in your Desktop directory, that was the problem. The default directory in the terminal is your /home/[your username] directory. Make sense?
    yeats - Ubuntu 13.04

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    21

    Re: problems with terminal

    yeah it does, i just got confused cuz my command line is preceded by
    Jeff@stuff-desktop:~$
    so i assumed it was already at my desktop, but when i put that command it showed

    new file~
    virtualbox-2.1_2.1.4-42893_Ubuntu_intrepid_i386.deb
    VMware-player-2.0.5-109488.i386.tar.gz
    VMware-Player-2.5.1-126130.i386.bundle
    vmware-player-distrib
    Jeff@stuff-desktop:~/Desktop$

    i guess that solved it, i didn't know that u had to do all that stuff at once, thanks alot!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    21

    Re: problems with terminal

    one quick question though, when i put cd desktop alone y didn't it go to desktop?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Decatur, GA
    Beans
    1,157
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: problems with terminal

    one quick question though, when i put cd desktop alone y didn't it go to desktop?
    It depends on where you are in the directory tree .

    Code:
    cd
    by itself puts you back into your home directory, which is where your Desktop directory lives. Alternately you can do

    Code:
    cd ~/Desktop
    The ~/ means your home directory.

    Oh - and the reason "cd desktop" won't work is that capitalization matters in Linux. It has to be cd Desktop.
    yeats - Ubuntu 13.04

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    21

    Re: problems with terminal

    wow, well thats definately good to know, thanks alot once again

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •