Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why I'm Thinking of Leaving Windows

Beans

Why I'm Thinking of Leaving Windows

To start I've been using Linux off and on for about 2 years so I'm confident in my ability to use the OS without much problem.

However to get right into it, Windows license fees are going to bury me. Having mostly wasted well over 600 dollars on license fees on Vista for 4 computers I can't be expected to shell up another 600 for Windows 7 just to get a working OS that I was supposed to have already. So that's why I'm considering moving all 4 PCs to Linux.

I know all of them are compatible with Linux so I'm fine there. It's just the usage I'm worried about. For example, I know I can convert my WMA lossless music collection into FLAC without a problem but is there any decent alternative to running Windows Media Center? The family is planning on moving to AT&T U-Verse, will it activate in Linux, or better yet, will the technicians know how to manually activate?

I could go on with examples but those are two that are killing me right now and that I can't seem to find an answer to. I guess I'm just looking for guidance or some similar stories. It's not that I hate Windows or Microsoft, it's just that the licensing is starting to really grate on my nerves...and my bank account.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Why I'm Thinking of Leaving Windows

there is alternatives to windows media center http://www.linuxpusher.com/product_i...oducts_id=1171

i got this pack my self but i ended up using a crunch bang linux iinstall with a hauppage tv card as media center. i use elisa (found in repos) and i have all my movies ripped with dvd::rip and my music i ripped using the sound-juicer cd ripper.