Page 17 of 22 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 170 of 211

Thread: VDPAU- Should I try it?

  1. #161
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Beans
    678
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    Hi JY,

    I'm currently running your "testing" repos (190.25 driver), with standard decoding and vdpau rendering. Since the latest update came through (this morning I think) I now have this "white dots" issue I mentioned earlier even without vdpau decoding.

    However, I've got a bit more information: it's not actually white dots, it's the TV picture "showing through" in black areas.

    Have a look at the attached photo. It's a photo of the TV screen while displaying a wikipedia page in firefox with mythtv running in the background. The original photo is here
    That red and white stuff is the actual TV picture showing through.
    Interestingly enough, the black square at the top of that wikipedia article displays fine, plain black, nothing showing through.

    Hope this somehow helps finding the problem.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Lucid Lynx 10.04 on a Lenovo Thinkpad R61i
    Arch frontend/backend
    Arch frontend
    Yay North Adelaide Ultimate !!!

  2. #162
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    207

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    The update yesterday was about fixing a possible segfault when some custom modelines were defined with particular characters in the name.

    Other than that there's been no difference...

    So I believe this is purely a coincidence.

    You can try reverting to the previous version if you want...

    Do you have Compiz installed and running? try disabling it to see if it makes a difference.

  3. #163
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Beans
    678
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    No I don't have compiz installed.

    BTW, here's a snippet from my frontend log
    2009-08-30 20:07:32.435 TV: Attempting to change from None to WatchingLiveTV
    2009-08-30 20:07:32.436 Using protocol version 40
    2009-08-30 20:07:33.539 DPMS Deactivated
    2009-08-30 20:07:33.549 NVP: Disabling Audio, params(-1,2,44100)
    2009-08-30 20:07:33.745 OSD Theme Dimensions W: 1280 H: 720
    2009-08-30 20:07:34.032 TV: Changing from None to WatchingLiveTV
    2009-08-30 20:07:34.034 Realtime priority would require SUID as root.
    2009-08-30 20:07:34.149 Video timing method: USleep with busy wait
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.679 AFD: Opened codec 0xaae05c40, id(MPEG2VIDEO) type(Video)
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.679 AFD: codec AC3 has 6 channels
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.680 AFD: Opened codec 0xaae09770, id(AC3) type(Audio)
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.711 Opening audio device 'default'. ch 2(2) sr 48000
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.711 Opening ALSA audio device 'default'.
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.777 Mixer unable to find control Master
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.777 Mixer unable to find control Master
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.778 NVP: Enabling Audio
    2009-08-30 20:07:36.915 NVP: prebuffering pause
    2009-08-30 20:07:48.774 TV: Attempting to change from WatchingLiveTV to None
    2009-08-30 20:07:49.185 TV: Changing from WatchingLiveTV to None
    2009-08-30 20:07:49.281 DPMS Reactivated.
    Lucid Lynx 10.04 on a Lenovo Thinkpad R61i
    Arch frontend/backend
    Arch frontend
    Yay North Adelaide Ultimate !!!

  4. #164
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    207

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    You'll have to see if going back to the earlier version fix it for you...

    But I can't think of any reasons why it should ...

  5. #165
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    I am slightly confused as to why my vdpau comes up with so many "artifacts" during playback. I am running 180.60nvidia drivers and have setup the playback settings as described here. If i use cpu++ my average cpu loading during live tv playback is around 18%. If i use high quality i get around 48-50%cpu loading. With vdpau selected i get lots of artifacts on all channels (that are no there without vdpau) but reduced cpu loading down to around 6% average.

    My GPU (8300) is onboard my motherboard but isnt supported by the underclocking util so Im guessing i am kind of stuck as to getting vdpau working.

    Is there any problem with running 50%cpu loading during livetv playback? Using highquality does seem to have solved the audio "clicking" i was getting during live tv in cpu++, but obviously does have a higher cpu loading to boot.

    Incase it matters im using 9.04 64bit on an AMD 64 5050e (dual core 2.6GHz) with 2gbram so should be up to the job of a media center combined front/back end.
    Last edited by geekyhawkes; August 30th, 2009 at 03:31 PM.
    Im still kind of new here, only 8 years into ubuntu and still finding my way around!
    There are no such things as dumb questions, just dumb people! (And yes, i consider myself to be dumb!)

  6. #166
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    207

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    what do you mean by "artifacts" ?

  7. #167
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    like very large pixcels appearing on the screen (similar to those displayed during very bad reception), except they are only present with vdpau selected and not with high quality or cpu++. They are worse when the picture is high speed (such as the f1) but present around all moving objects as very large square over sized pixcels.
    Im still kind of new here, only 8 years into ubuntu and still finding my way around!
    There are no such things as dumb questions, just dumb people! (And yes, i consider myself to be dumb!)

  8. #168
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Beans
    678
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    Do these "large pixels" disappear during almost static pictures (eg a newsreader in front of a static background) ?
    And reappear once the scene changes (eg the news cut to a report)?
    Lucid Lynx 10.04 on a Lenovo Thinkpad R61i
    Arch frontend/backend
    Arch frontend
    Yay North Adelaide Ultimate !!!

  9. #169
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    207

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    Quote Originally Posted by geekyhawkes View Post
    like very large pixcels appearing on the screen (similar to those displayed during very bad reception), except they are only present with vdpau selected and not with high quality or cpu++. They are worse when the picture is high speed (such as the f1) but present around all moving objects as very large square over sized pixcels.
    Which version of MythTV are you using?

    From my 0.21-fixes repository or something else ?

  10. #170
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    539
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: VDPAU- Should I try it?

    Exactly as decribed by laffinet above. I am using myth from your repos as listed earlier in this thread. I then ran apt-get update / upgrade and created a vdpau display profile for live tv.
    Im still kind of new here, only 8 years into ubuntu and still finding my way around!
    There are no such things as dumb questions, just dumb people! (And yes, i consider myself to be dumb!)

Page 17 of 22 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •