Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    50

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Would a fresh install fix the problem? Could installing 64 bit ubuntu or booting into a LiveCD help?

    Perhaps it is certain Bios(es) and certain CPU's that the kernal has trouble with?
    Is there a way to reinstall the kernel, or something along those lines?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,865
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Well, you might try booting off of the 32 bit and 64 bit live cd and seeing if it sees all four cores.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    50

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    I'll probably try booting into a 64-bit LiveCD later today. Would compiling a new kernel possibly fix this issue?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,865
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    I don't think so, but I would verify the kernels you have tried and then submit a bug report:

    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+filebug

    I feel strongly that it is a combination of certain chipsets/bioses/cpus.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    50

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    It's fixed. System monitor now shows all four cores. The problem was that apic wasn't disabled in the kernel line, but it was in the BIOS setup. I'd already checked the BIOS to make sure all cores were enabled, but I guess I didn't notice the apic option.

    Thanks for your help.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    4,715
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Congratulations, walawa, and thank you for posting your solution!
    What did you do differently between now and post #23 when you tried booting with "noapic" ?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    50

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    In post #23 I was trying to boot with acpi disabled because I'd read it could help, but this did not make a difference because I didn't know that acpi was already disabled in the BIOS. The problem was that I've been booting with acpi disabled without knowing it. So I enabled it and now everything works fine.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA via Donegal
    Beans
    452
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Great! Glad you got the 4 cores enabled.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    125

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    It seems to be hit or miss with me. Earlier this month I posted on launchpad, I'm not sure why I didn't post here. My original bug post was marked as a duplicate of this: Bug#97554

    And no, disabling APIC is not a viable solution. The way I understand it, that would disable SMP altogether, which is not what I want.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •