Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Desktop effects not working in kde with radeon driver?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    78

    Desktop effects not working in kde with radeon driver?

    Hello everybody,
    well, I have installed the new fglrx driver, it doesn't support xorg 1.6 yet, so I am back to radeon driver.
    I noticed that desktop effects on kde, that were working some time ago with radeon driver, aren't active anymore, even if they are reported to be enabled in System settings -> Desktop.
    Is anybody experiencing the same issue?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    70

    Re: Desktop effects not working in kde with radeon driver?

    It depends on the chip you have.

    I have a R300 based card (9700 mobility iirc) and it works nicely.

    On the other hand, if you have a R500/R600/R700 based card, radeon is not as good as fglrx, so you might have issues.
    Last edited by Seren; February 5th, 2009 at 03:40 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    1,010
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Desktop effects not working in kde with radeon driver?

    I have one of these things --
    VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS690M [Radeon X1200 Series]

    ... and it seems to work quite well with radeon. Some effects don't work, but they're nonessential for me anyway.
    my shiz: http://inportb.com/
    use Dropbox if you need an awesome free file hosting service; please follow my referral link for an extra 256MB of free storage.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Beans
    708
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Desktop effects not working in kde with radeon driver?

    In the last 2 days my effects stopped working with the Nvidia 180.27 driver. I wonder if there is a common problem?


    Cary
    Ubuntu user 7859 registered Linux user 470405
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 7859"
    Lenovo T510 Kubuntu Trusty 64bit, Intel Core i5-560M, 8GB PC3-DDR3 SDRAM - 1067 MHz,
    NVIDIA NVS 3100m PCI Express, Wireless Centrino N 6300

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    78

    Re: Desktop effects not working in kde with radeon driver?

    Quote Originally Posted by Seren View Post
    It depends on the chip you have.

    I have a R300 based card (9700 mobility iirc) and it works nicely.

    On the other hand, if you have a R500/R600/R700 based card, radeon is not as good as fglrx, so you might have issues.

    I have an ati mobility radeon x700. But the point is that some time ago *I had* desktop effects working, then I haven't been using jaunty for a while, and after I discovered that they have stopped working. So I was wondering what was the cause (some upgrade, I suppose, but which package is the culprit?).

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •