Thread: Re : This isn't a complaint, but how about doing this...

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Re : This isn't a complaint, but how about doing this...

This thread is a reply to this thread in the RC since it is in the RC standard users can't reply, I did report it to request moving it out but it seems only admins can move threads out of the RC.

Please feel free to merge this if that thread should make its way out of the RC.

I am totally in full agreement with adding usefull links maybe a few stickies maybe some wiki pages with the welcome email should it be possible as part of the templeting engine and forum software.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Re : This isn't a complaint, but how about doing this...

Great Idea, I know it would have helped me a bit. Something I think would be useful would be a brief description of what each sub-forum is, such as:

Absolute Beginners: This is a great place to start if you do not know much about Linux, or even computers in general.

Main Support Categories: These are great places for more advanced questions on specific topics. These forums are a bit slower, but they usually have good answers to tougher questions.

...ect
    Registered Linux User: 453202 Registered Ubuntu User:17339
    WARNING: Don't take code or candy from strangers.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

I haven't seen much admin activity lately, so I imagine that the few that are on are extreamly busy trying to keep up with the mass-posting that takes place on active forums like these.

I am also in agreement with the poster of the RC thread. I think a summary of the CoC would be great for the automatic email (honestly, how many people do you think actually read the entire thing when they first register? I'll admit that I didn't), as well as links to posts such as the UbuntuForums: Guide to Forum Features, and a few other ones that are important as well.