Thread: please explain what a linux backport module is

Beans

please explain what a linux backport module is

I could not get my atheros card working and seeing as how I am a noob and totally could not figure out how to install "madwifi" I found this in another thread:
    Here are the steps:

1- Disable the "Support for Atheros 802.11 wireless LAN cards" on Hardware Drivers, and reboot your box.
    2- Once it is back on, open a Terminal, and type:
    Code:

sudo aptitude install linux-backports-modules-intrepid-generic

It will ask your password, this is what it prints on screen, that is, what it will do:
    Code:

esteban@tango:~/Desktop$ sudo aptitude install linux-backports-modules-intrepid-generic
    [sudo] password for esteban:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    Reading extended state information
    Initializing package states... Done
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
    linux-backports-modules-2.6.27-7-generic{a}
    linux-backports-modules-intrepid-generic
    0 packages upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 1173kB of archives. After unpacking 3772kB will be used.
    Do you want to continue? [Y/n/?]

When that is over (you'll get your prompt back), reboot, and enjoy the WiFi connection.

Can someone please explain to me what backport modules are, what they do, why I needed them and if possible, how to integrate that into my ISO so that the next time I install ubuntu I don't have to search the internet for that syntax to type in again to make my wifi card work.

Also, it wouldn't hurt if someone explained to me how madwifi works, if it is the same thing that I did with the above command and if not, a way to install it or something so that if I ever install ubuntu again this will be easier for me.

thanks so much for the patience of all.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: please explain what a linux backport module is