Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working iMac G3 8.04 with multimedia and iplayer

Beans

Working iMac G3 8.04 with multimedia and iplayer

Installation of Ubuntu 8.04 on iMac G3 (slot) 400Mhz 10Gb HDD 512Mb RAM (upgraded)

The installation guide below has been designed to be as comprehensive as possible. It is long winded, but as a complete newbie less than a year ago, I understand the need for more than 'just edit the xxxx file'.

Most of the ideas are not mine, so I have tried to remember where I got the info from and list the addresses. This post is useful, however, because it does contain information not contained in the PowerPC Known Issues page (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PowerPCKnownIssues) or other threads I have seen, and it collects together information posted in a variety of places to complete a basic set-up, following installation.

I am a not an expert, so there may be a number of items below that the better informed could improve, but the actions carried out below have worked on my machine. Before reading this post, please read the PowerPC Known Issues wiki, as my solution differs, and clearly other iMac G3s have responded differently to the installation of 8.04.

www.ubuntu.com and click on Support and then documentation to see the official Ubuntu 8.04 info.

The first useful thread is Easy Way to Install Ubuntu on iMac G3 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=405934). The instructions contained here are very useful and form the basis of the initial installation. There is also information available concerning an earlier version of Ubuntu at (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/PowerPC). I carried out the following:

Used this page http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ports/releases/hardy/release/ to select Mac (PowerPC) and IBM-PPC (POWER5) alternate install CD.