Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Confused about mount

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    20

    Confused about mount

    I use Places > Network, I can see and access the Windows shares on the rest of my network. I get an icon on my desktop which I am assuming is my mount point. These shares show up in Nautilus.

    The problem comes in when I want to access one of these shares with a program. They can't see these Windows shares.

    What am I missing? How do I mount these shares so that my programs can see them too?

    Thanks,
    Eric

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    13,354
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Confused about mount

    No, an icon on the desktop isn't the mount point. Things are usually mounted under /media/something.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho
    Beans
    4,976
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Confused about mount

    Actually those should be mounted by gvfs.

    To access them as a normal folder browse to ~/.gvfs you should be able to find them in there.
    "You can't expect to hold supreme executive power just because some watery tart lobbed a sword at you"

    "Don't let your mind wander -- it's too little to be let out alone."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    20

    Re: Confused about mount

    Quote Originally Posted by mikewhatever View Post
    No, an icon on the desktop isn't the mount point. Things are usually mounted under /media/something.
    The only items in the /media folder are, 2 links to cdrom and floppy, and 3 folders cdrom0, cdrom1 and floppy0.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    20

    Re: Confused about mount

    Quote Originally Posted by jerome1232 View Post
    Actually those should be mounted by gvfs.

    To access them as a normal folder browse to ~/.gvfs you should be able to find them in there.
    The only .gvfs folder I could find was in my home folder /home/eric, is that the one you are talking about?

    Also that folder was empty, even with "Show Hidden Files" turned on in Nautilus.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    13,354
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Confused about mount

    Odd, can you post the output of <df -h>.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    20

    Re: Confused about mount

    Quote Originally Posted by mikewhatever View Post
    Odd, can you post the output of <df -h>.
    ...as requested...

    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda1 19G 12G 5.9G 66% /
    varrun 759M 148K 759M 1% /var/run
    varlock 759M 0 759M 0% /var/lock
    udev 759M 56K 759M 1% /dev
    devshm 759M 220K 759M 1% /dev/shm
    lrm 759M 39M 720M 6% /lib/modules/2.6.24-23-generic/volatile

    What does this tell you?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Beans
    213
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Confused about mount

    Quote Originally Posted by jerome1232 View Post
    Actually those should be mounted by gvfs.
    To access them as a normal folder browse to ~/.gvfs you should be able to find them in there.

    Hello,

    There's actually a better way to do this.

    Basically 'connect to server' like you have done is OK if you want to browse files etc, but it doesn't really set it up as a 'drive' that the system can recognise.

    If you have a network share that you'll be accessing all the time you really need to look at mounting it permanently.

    Assuming the other machine is sharing a folder with Linux+Samba, or Windows XP file sharing, do this :


    (1) Make a mount point called fred (change it to suit your needs) :

    Code:
    cd /media
    sudo mkdir fred
    sudo chown yourusername:yourgroupname fred
    ls -l /media/
    (2) Install smbfs :

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install smbfs
    (3) Put the mount entries into /etc/fstab :

    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/fstab
    Put the following in there. Naturally you have to change :
    • 192.168.1.1 to the remote computer's IP Address
    • 'sharename' to the name of the shared folder on the remote computer
    • /media/fred to the mount point you created in (1) above
    • YOURUSERNAME/YOURPASSWORD to your username/password on the remote computer
    • YOURUSERNAME/YOURGROUPNAME to your user/group name on the local machine


    Code:
    //192.168.1.1/sharedfolder /media/fred cifs auto,user=YOURUSERNAME,password=YOURPASSWORD,uid=YOURUSERNAME,gid=YOURGROUPNAME 0 0
    (4) Try to mount it :

    Code:
    sudo mount -a
    Then check it's mounted :

    Code:
    mount
    Hopefully you get something like this in there :

    Code:
    //192.168.1.1/sharename on /media/fred type cifs (rw,mand)

    So now the device is mounted permanently, and you should be able to access everything as normal

    Good luck!

    Callan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    20

    Re: Confused about mount

    Thanks Callan for the suggestion, it seemed to go well.

    I figured as a final test to make sure that it was working fine, I threw a file in the folder from a different machine. Then I checked that folder from my Ubuntu system. No file...

    I go to Places > Network and I access the folder as I had before... ...there is the file.

    I don't understand...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    20

    Re: Confused about mount

    Quote Originally Posted by EricBJ View Post
    Thanks Callan for the suggestion, it seemed to go well.

    I figured as a final test to make sure that it was working fine, I threw a file in the folder from a different machine. Then I checked that folder from my Ubuntu system. No file...

    I go to Places > Network and I access the folder as I had before... ...there is the file.

    I don't understand...

    I had a thought that I should try the reverse...

    I attempted to put a file in the folder from my Ubuntu system. I got "permission denied".

    I must have messed up a setting. The only thing about that fstab statement that I'm not completely certain about is the "user group name" on the local machine. How do I determine what my "user group name" is?

    Thanks,
    Eric

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •