Thread: Program Request: 'yakuake' alternative

Beans
    Hidden!

Program Request: 'yakuake' alternative

in the Universe repos lies a usefull program called Yakuake - it is a pop-down terminal similar to those found in Quake and Doom.

with my very limited scripting experience, i've run into several brick walls trying to make an alternative. Although i'm not a coder, it seems that it should be a relatively simple task, possibly just a compilation of Alltray, devilspie, and a bit of clever working with minimizing and re-opening windows (my brick wall).

anyone know how to make something like that? (animations, etc like those in Yakuake are pointless, btw)

thanks,
    Ben
    So... a 1337 java programmer walks into a bar...

Beans

Re: Program Request: 'yakuake' alternative

Quote Originally Posted by benplaut
    in the Universe repos lies a usefull program called Yakuake - it is a pop-down terminal similar to those found in Quake and Doom.

with my very limited scripting experience, i've run into several brick walls trying to make an alternative. Although i'm not a coder, it seems that it should be a relatively simple task, possibly just a compilation of Alltray, devilspie, and a bit of clever working with minimizing and re-opening windows (my brick wall).

anyone know how to make something like that? (animations, etc like those in Yakuake are pointless, btw)

thanks,
    Ben
    I'm not sure I understand exactly what you are trying to do. You didn't really expalin why you are making an alternative, and I am not exactly sure from the Yakuake home page what differentiates it from other terminal emulators.

Beans
    Hidden!

pretty much, how would i have a program open, then minimize (not showing on the tasklist or pager), on a key command, using to command to toggle the visibility.

i'm not really sure if it's easily possible, but i'm hoping
    So... a 1337 java programmer walks into a bar...

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by benplaut