Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't ping client(s)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    54

    Question Can't ping client(s)

    I'm trying to set up a couple of samba shares on my server. It's not working, so I started through the Samba checklist, and never made it past the ping test.

    So, my clients (all running Windows XP) can ping my server, by IP address or by name.

    My server cannot ping any client by name. It can ping some, but not all, by IP address. Trying FQDNs makes no difference.

    /etc/resolve.conf
    Code:
    domain corp.foo.com
    search corp.foo.com
    nameserver 192.168.41.100
    nameserver 192.168.1.100
    /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
            address 192.168.21.109
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            gateway 192.168.21.1
    It's probably something simple/stupid, so don't assume anything.

    What do I need to check/learn to get my TCP/IP right? TIA.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,909
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Can't ping client(s)

    You need to add all of your clients to your /etc/hosts file so the server can resolve the names, OR set up DNS, which, unless you have 25+ machines probably isn't worth the trouble. You add entries like this:

    Code:
    192.168.0.50    myserver.mydomain.com  myserver
    Save the file and restart the network.

    You also may have the Windoze firewall enabled on some clients and that may be preventing you from reaching them via IP.

    Let me know how it works out.

    -Tim
    www.pcchopshop.net

    Hard to find and obsolete PC and server parts. "If we can't find it, it probably doesn't exist"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Beans
    3,839

    Re: Can't ping client(s)

    Ubuntu won't resolve netbios names unless you install winbind and configure /etc/nsswitch.conf to use it. It shouldn't be necessary, though. ICMP pings are often filtered by firewalls, but this shouldn't affect your file server.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can't ping client(s)

    I've noticed that sometimes XP with the firewall turned on will not return ping's, and yet other times it will. I have the firewall truned off on my desktop computer that runs XP, but the laptop that runs xp has the firewall turned on, and right now I can ping both of them.

    Jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    424

    Re: Can't ping client(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by windependence View Post
    You need to add all of your clients to your /etc/hosts file
    If he can't ping by IP then adding them to the hosts file won't help.

    Besides they are probably dynamic IPs.

    I would ignore the ones which won't ping for now and continue troubleshooting with those which will.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    54

    Re: Can't ping client(s)

    Thanks for all the help.

    Turns out that I was able to get Samba working, even though I still can't get hostnames to resolve when pinging. I just skipped ahead in the Samba checklist and went through the rest of the stuff.

    Thanks again.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •