Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 116

Thread: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Beans
    1,310
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    Thanks for the answers, and for the very detailed one, cyberdork33! Those are two very useful links at the end, especially the AppleIntelInstallation one. I had about 30 sites bookmarked in the course of trying to figure this out, and neither of those ever came up. Sometimes Google is *not* my friend.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Angry Ubuntu 9.10 on MacPro 2009 (generation 4,1)

    Has anyone compiled an alternative LiveCD or installer CD that boots successfully and allows gparted to see the MacPro's harddrive? If so that would be a valuable contribution. None of Ubuntu's CD's from version 8.04 (x86 or x86_64) up to 9.10 work so far. It usually hangs after it gets to the point of booting up (maybe GRUB or GRUB2?) Choosing options like acpi=off and no apic does not help either. If there's a fix out there please help! The closest page I've seen so far is this http://wiki.debian.org/DebianOnIntelMacPro, but I don't understand it at all.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    190

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    i think the guide needs to be updated for imacs and 9.10. something isnt quite right with my fresh install. I boot, use rEFIt to choose ubuntu and then i just see the word GRUB forever

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    I'm glad to know that I'm not the only one with the blinking cursor problem, would it be possible to post a good/simple tutorial on how to resolve this because I can't launch my windows partition either.
    Ty

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    I have the impression that GRUB isn't installed because I can't find it using spotlight. Could this be possible?
    To tell you exactly what I did to install Linux was booted onto the Live CD then installed ubuntu 9.10 on the bootcamp drive on which I already had Vista installed. But know I am unable to boot any of them. So any help would be welcome!

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    18

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    On my 27 inch iMac

    I got it to boot up from the Live CD. At first the graphics didnt work right, but after installing the ATI Radeon Graphics driver, they worked fine. I had it running perfectly... except for one thing. No sound. The output monitors all say that there is sound, but there is no sound whatsoever. The speakers work fine in OS X though. Anyone else have this problem?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    You know, that cool city
    Beans
    16
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesey View Post
    i think the guide needs to be updated for imacs and 9.10. something isnt quite right with my fresh install. I boot, use rEFIt to choose ubuntu and then i just see the word GRUB forever
    I'm barely sure if this is the answer, but did you create an approximately 600 megabyte partition formatted as ext32, and the rest of the desired space as swap, and then reinstall ubuntu with rEFIt or another partition manager/EFI?
    Last edited by TehCodr; February 18th, 2010 at 12:12 AM. Reason: forgot to add something

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    17

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ update required!

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesey View Post
    i think the guide needs to be updated for imacs and 9.10. something isnt quite right with my fresh install. I boot, use rEFIt to choose ubuntu and then i just see the word GRUB forever
    It does not work for me either. I have an iMac with 10.4 on it, created 20 GB space, then run the installer and put Grub onto the root partition. rEFIt does not reports no syncing required. Thats it: no signs of Grub or Linux on startup. When I select the (uncoloured) Window image after pressing the alt tab the computer freezes.

    I have been searching on this for more than a week, but no clear hint found. Apple hardware is pretty standardised, should be straight forward to clarify the issue...in theory.

    Here is my setting:

    sda1:fat32, sda2:jhfs+, sda3 ext4, sda4: swap
    boot files: /boot/grub/grub.cfg /etc/fstab /boot/grub/core.img

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders, total 488397168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Partition Boot Start End Size Id System

    /dev/sda1 1 409,639 409,639 ee GPT
    /dev/sda2 * 409,640 440,811,559 440,401,920 af HFS
    /dev/sda3 440,811,560 484,487,341 43,675,782 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 484,487,342 488,395,545 3,908,204 82 Linux swap / Solaris


    GUID Partition Table detected.

    Partition Start End Size System
    /dev/sda1 40 409,639 409,600 System/Boot Partition
    /dev/sda2 409,640 440,811,559 440,401,920 HFS+
    /dev/sda3 440,811,560 484,487,341 43,675,782 Linux or Data
    /dev/sda4 484,487,342 488,395,545 3,908,204 Linux Swap

    blkid -c /dev/null: __________________________________________________ __________

    Device UUID TYPE LABEL

    /dev/loop0 squashfs
    /dev/sda1 4646-150A vfat EFI
    /dev/sda2 731ab256-3f5a-3983-9b13-a309618c5b49 hfsplus Macintosh HD
    /dev/sda3 99dbb3ce-cf17-4df5-aa02-fa9d406e4a39 ext4
    /dev/sda4 20dc7859-25c0-419f-bb29-1ba0c286d8e0 swap

    It is so frustrating, for MacUsers Linux still does not seem to be an option. Maybe somebody knows the trick?

    Cheers
    Lokesh

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    7

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    For your configuration, boot into your Mac and mount the EFI partition with:

    mkdir /efi
    sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /efi

    Once mounted, create a folder in EFI called "grub" and install the attached grup2 efi loader into that folder. Create a "grub.cfg" file in the same folder with the following info:

    menuentry "Mac" {
    set root=(hd0.2)
    chainloader /usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi
    }
    menuentry "Ubuntu" {
    set root=(hd0,3)
    insmod ext2
    linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3
    initrd /initrd.img
    }

    This should be enough to get you started. You will now have to bless the grub.efi with:

    sudo bless --folder=/efi/EFI --file=/efi/EFI/grub/grub.efi --setBoot

    I hope this helps...

    LasVegas

    Note: If the boot drive is any drive other than the internal drive0 (sda), the EFI partition has to be reformatted into HFS+. You should be able to get away with creating an EFI folder on the Mac partition and set it up the same. This way you wouldn't be messing with the EFI partition.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by las_vegas; March 1st, 2010 at 11:18 AM. Reason: added notes...

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    17

    Re: Intel Mac (Mactel) FAQ

    Hi Las Vegas

    thank you for the advice, it worked!

    Some additional information for those who are not yet there:
    Quote Originally Posted by las_vegas View Post
    Once mounted, create a folder in EFI called "grub" and install the attached grup2 efi loader into that folder..
    I unzipped the file first, which resulted in a grub22...efi file. I copied this into the target folder

    Create a "grub.cfg" file in the same folder with the following info:
    I did it by typing nano /efi/EFI/grub/grub.cfg in the terminal

    sudo bless --folder=/efi/EFI --file=/efi/EFI/grub/grub.efi --setBoot
    I think the bless command is the most important step, file BTW should be grub22...efi instead.

    Thanks again
    Lokesh

Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •