Page 51 of 124 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361101 ... LastLast
Results 501 to 510 of 1236

Thread: ALSA Upgrade Script

  1. #501
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    16

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    This script worked like a charm for my Nvidia MCP7A HDMI (I'm guessing that's the audio chip that ships with most Ion motherboards.) on Jaunty.

    I'm using ICH958 (optical) output to my reciever, and the script gave me access to the switches 'ICH958' which enables 2ch audio for XBMC and most apps, and 'ICH958 Default PCM' which enables 6ch surround.

    The only problem I ran into was that the 'ICH958' switch would uncheck itself every reboot. It took me a few hours of searching google for things like "ALSA IEC958 switch will not survive reboot" before I could cobble together a solution. I'd figured I would share what worked for me:

    From terminal run:
    Code:
    alsamixer
    Press F3 to view Playback settings. You'll probably have to scroll to the right using the arrow keys to be able to view the 'IEC958' and 'IEC958 D' settings. Highlight each one and use the ">" key to change the value from 'MM' (Muted) to '00' (Unmuted). Press ESC to exit alsamixer.

    The next step is to save these settings. To do so, type in terminal:
    Code:
    sudo alsactl store 0
    This will tell AlsaCtl to save the settings you just made into /etc/asound.state

    Now, for whatever reason, Ubuntu Jaunty does not read the /etc/asound.state file on startup. This is really stupid, and results in the gnome panel applet and 'alsamixer' settings not surviving a reboot. Jaunty is actually looking for asound.state in /var/lib/alsa/. So whenever you make changes with aslamixer and save them with alsactl, make sure to copy the asound.state file to /var/lib/alsa/. In Terminal:
    Code:
    sudo cp /etc/asound.state /var/lib/alsa/asound.state
    This allowed my switches and settings to survive reboot. I hope this helps someone else, cuz I spent a couple hours trying to figure out why all my audio settings reset every reboot.
    Last edited by ubradford; November 23rd, 2009 at 10:45 AM.

  2. #502
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Hi guys,

    I don't now if it's appropriate here.
    But this is the case/ problem:

    2 Sound cards, one on board ( disabled in BIOS)and one PCI ( SB Life platinum).

    I use ALSA 1.0.20.

    The problem is, that the system after every reboot puts the on board ( which I don' want to use) on position 0 and the SB on 1, so there is no sound again. If SB is on pos 0 there is sound.

    How do I manage to disable the on board (Realtec) card in Xubuntu 9.10 or lock that card on position 1?

  3. #503
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Worked like a charm on the Dell Vostro 220s running Linux Mint 7

  4. #504
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    3

    Alsa on nVidia ION w/HDMI output

    Hi all,

    I've run the script on an Asrock ION330. I need to get multi-channel digital audio working from the HDMI port (not the optical port). I can only seem to get 2-channel stereo working.

    I will basically be using this in XBMC, and when I select digital in XBMC I get an error saying cannot initialize audio device. When I select analog in XBMC, I get stereo sound (yes through the HDMI connection).

    I am running 1.0.21, confirmed. The alsamixer only shows a front right and front left channel.

    Does anyone have any advice on how to enable multi-channel digital sound?

    Thanks!

    Robert

  5. #505
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Beans
    738

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Quote Originally Posted by sherl0k View Post
    For the record, the script doesn't work on 2.6.32.
    Kernel 2.6.32 to my knowledge already has Alsa 1.0.21.

  6. #506
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Do i get a message in the terminal when the update prosess has finnished?

  7. #507
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Beans
    738

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Quote Originally Posted by k28 View Post
    Do i get a message in the terminal when the update prosess has finnished?
    Yes you do if it's successful. Otherwise you'll have to look at the log file.

  8. #508
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    THX^


    Ok the installation was successfull but i got a problem.

    Befor any sounds are played i get a sound like i pluged in/out the jack plug

    Any Idea how i can fix that?

  9. #509
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Beans
    738

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Quote Originally Posted by k28 View Post
    THX^


    Ok the installation was successfull but i got a problem.

    Befor any sounds are played i get a sound like i pluged in/out the jack plug

    Any Idea how i can fix that?
    What sound card have you?
    Code:
    lspci | grep audio

  10. #510
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    I have the same phenomenon as k28.
    lspci gives:
    Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

    ALSA driver version is 1.0.20
    I can't update right now, I'm behind a firewall :/

    Greets,
    FA
    Last edited by Mr Fart Alot; November 25th, 2009 at 10:32 PM.

Page 51 of 124 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361101 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •