Thread: Getting Past System Check TurboTax FreeFile

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Getting Past System Check TurboTax FreeFile

I want to free file my (state and federal) taxes online.
    According to:
    http://www.tax.state.ny.us/elf/free_efile_info.htm
    my one choice for free e-Filing is Turbotax (I'm over 25 and make less than $30k ... I'm a grad student), located at:
    http://www.taxfreedom.com
    After going there and clicking I qualify in firefox3, I get sent to this nasty screen saying:

Please make sure your computer meets the TurboTax Online system requirements.

To ensure you have the best possible experience using TurboTax Online, we recommend that your computer meet the following system requirements.

Minimum System Requirements:
    The TurboTax Online service is optimized for:
    Windows
    Version Web Browser
    Windows Vista AOL 9.0, Firefox 2.0, Internet Explorer 7.0, Netscape 9.0
    Windows XP AOL 8.0, Firefox 2.0, Flock 2.0, Internet Explorer 6.0 (with Windows XP Service Pack 2 or higher), Netscape 9.0
    Windows 2003 Firefox 2.0, Internet Explorer 6.0, Netscape 9.0
    Windows 2000 AOL 8.0, Firefox 2.0, Flock 2.0, Netscape 9.0
    Mac OS X
    Mac OS X Web Browser
    Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) Firefox 2.0, Flock 2.0, Safari 3.0
    Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) Firefox 2.0, Safari 3.0
    Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Firefox 2.0
    Mac OS X 10.2 (Jaguar) Firefox 2.0
    Download Supported Browsers
    Now normally I would avoid this company like the plague for poor site design and deliberately trying to limit there business, but I don't feel like paying money to file my taxes (and prefer the convenience of e-filing). I sincerely doubt that firefox3 on ubuntu is actually incompatible with their e-filing system. I was wondering if anyone knows how to make firefox3 fake that its on windows or Mac and is version 2.0 or 3.0. I've tried changing a few things in about:config and also tried epiphany but nothing worked yet.