Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ad hoc wireless ubuntu - vista

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

ad hoc wireless ubuntu - vista

Hi,

I'm trying to set up an ad hoc (comp to comp) wireless link between two laptops.

One runs Intrepid exclusively (mine)
    One runs Vista Home Premium exclusively (my wife's)

Both connect without a problem to the wlans we have at work.

When I try to set up an ad hoc network between them though, they just won't connect.

Do I need to have any specific packages install to enable a cross-platform connection? Or is there an existing how-to I can follow?

I'd consider myself an intermediate user. I've been using Ubuntu for about 2 years, so I'm cool with the cli, but I'd rather not mess around with iptables. I can leearn if i have to.

Thanks in anticipation.

Beans

Re: ad hoc wireless ubuntu - vista

I there,
    I'm trying to do a similar thing but using xp sp3.
    Managed to set-up adhoc on xp but ubuntu stays blind to it...

Beans
    Distro

Good luck with that. Vista and ad hoc is a disaster.

Managed ad hoc on Vista once. Connecting took 2 hours, then I had a connection with a range of 5m that was soooo damn flakey that I couldn't transfer anything.

Beans

Beans
    Distro

Thanks superprash2003, i'll check out those links and post my results back here.
    Sounds like if I can get this to work, others may find it helpful.

Beans
    Distro

well, i had a bit of a poke around both vista and ubuntu. I checked out the above links, but they weren't so helpful. Some of the commands in the linux one didn't seem to work for me. And the Vista one is what i was trying to do anyway. thanks though.

The closest I got to getting it working was with the following (all GUI i'm afraid):

Set up an ad hoc connection in Vista
    - Set it up using WPA2 personal encryption (i did this because I've had trouble with Ubuntu connecting to unsecured wlan previously)
    - used a simple SSID, like 'network' or something