Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't Print to my Networked Xerox 8400 printer

Beans

Can't Print to my Networked Xerox 8400 printer

I am a totally clueless newbie (or so I've been told), so please have mercy on my soul and help me with this frazzling problem.

Background: My new computer (came with VISTA) has been set up with Ubuntu as my default operating system and, though I have not done any special network setup action/protocol/install with my new computer (with either Ubuntu or Vista) yet, it is able to SEE the other computers and printers on the network, and I have been able to access some files from another computer on the network. But my computer has not, officially, been set up on the network yet and, thus, the other computers cannot see me. Presumably, the Xerox Phaser 8400 printer can't "see" me either.

So, my problem is that, if I try to print anything, I can see the 8400 on the drop-down Print Menu, but I can't see the 8400's printer properties AND nothing will print. Well, actually one print job took 5 hours to print one page! I've gotten the following weird printer error message from Ubuntu when I tried to print: (following is the end of the message.)

"Processing -- Remote Host Did Not Accept Data File (32)"

I'm dyslectic and don't speak tech very well, so I'm easily confused by tech-speak. Is there anyone out there who can...HELP!

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Can't Print to my Networked Xerox 8400 printer

Strange, I just typed a reply and lost it somehow after hitting submit - maybe my connection was interrupted.

Anyhow, when dealing with a network printer you usually need to install a 'driver' that tells your computer (the client) how to communicate properly with the printer (the server). For a network printer the 'driver' usually includes a utility that allows you to specify the network address of the printer, a password if required, the communication details, etc..