Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 49

Thread: HP dv6000 Mic

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    19

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    Quote Originally Posted by Prominence View Post
    Still no luck, same as before

    grayson@iGrayson:~$ sudo python run.py
    Creating temporary directory: /dev/shm/hda-analyzer
    Downloading file hda_analyzer.py
    Downloading file hda_codec.py
    Downloaded all files, executing hda_analyzer.py
    No HDA codecs were found or insufficient priviledges for
    /dev/snd/controlC* and /dev/snd/hwdepC*D* device files.

    You may also check, if you compiled HDA driver with HWDEP
    interface as well or close all application using HWDEP.

    Try run this program as root user.
    grayson@iGrayson:~$
    Can you please reboot and try "sudo python run.py" again?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    320

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    Ok did so

    grayson@iGrayson:~$ sudo python run.py
    Creating temporary directory: /dev/shm/hda-analyzer
    Downloading file hda_analyzer.py
    Downloading file hda_codec.py
    Downloaded all files, executing hda_analyzer.py
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 906, in <module>
    main()
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 893, in main
    if read_nodes() == 0:
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 46, in read_nodes
    read_nodes2(c.card, i)
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 36, in read_nodes2
    c.analyze()
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_codec.py", line 821, in analyze
    pcm = self.param_read(self.afg, PARAMS['PCM'])
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_codec.py", line 745, in param_read
    return self.rw(nid, VERBS['PARAMETERS'], param)
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_codec.py", line 730, in rw
    verb = (nid << 24) | (verb << 8) | param
    TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for <<: 'NoneType' and 'int'
    grayson@iGrayson:~$

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    19

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    Quote Originally Posted by Prominence View Post
    Ok did so

    grayson@iGrayson:~$ sudo python run.py
    Creating temporary directory: /dev/shm/hda-analyzer
    Downloading file hda_analyzer.py
    Downloading file hda_codec.py
    Downloaded all files, executing hda_analyzer.py
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 906, in <module>
    main()
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 893, in main
    if read_nodes() == 0:
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 46, in read_nodes
    read_nodes2(c.card, i)
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py", line 36, in read_nodes2
    c.analyze()
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_codec.py", line 821, in analyze
    pcm = self.param_read(self.afg, PARAMS['PCM'])
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_codec.py", line 745, in param_read
    return self.rw(nid, VERBS['PARAMETERS'], param)
    File "/dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_codec.py", line 730, in rw
    verb = (nid << 24) | (verb << 8) | param
    TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for <<: 'NoneType' and 'int'
    grayson@iGrayson:~$
    Prominence, I have a fix for you:

    1. Download the zip from this post and unzip its contents to your home directory.

    2. Open up a terminal and type:

    sudo cp ~/hda_codec.py /dev/shm/hda-analyzer/
    cd /dev/shm/hda-analyzer
    sudo python ./hda_analyzer.py

    This should bring up the HDA analyzer dialog correctly. I know some other people also ran into these issues, so please let me know if this fix helps. I have modified hda_codec.py to add a small null check to prevent that abort.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    320

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    Once you get to the nodes you lose me completely

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    19

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    So were you able to get to the nodes?

    If yes, all you have to do is look for the nodes with the [AUD_IN] label next to them. These represent audio capture devices.

    Now if you click on those nodes, the right side of the window is going to change. Just look around for the keyword "pin". You will find a place with a couple of radio buttons. Just change the radio button from one option to another. Then try using the sound recorder application to test your microphone.

    The main problem with HP notebooks like ours and the HDA ALSA driver is that our pin configuration is messed up in the driver. We need to play around with the configuration, then test the recording with "Sound Recorder" or other sound applications till we figure out the right pin configurations. In fact, it would be very helpful everyone could state their exact HP laptop model number, and also their pin configuration changes. This would help other people who read these posts, and are looking for a microphone fix.

    Does this make sense?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    320

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    Well, it works in Skype now, it's choppy as hell in the recorder, but fine in Skype.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    Hey Sananth,

    Your scripts have gotten my mic working when nothing else would -- thank you so much!!

    I have the same problem that someone else did though, the settings don't stick when I reboot. I tried using the script that you gave in response to that problem, which seemed to work for the other guy, but it doesn't do much for me. I'm on a Pavillion dv6815nr, seems pretty similar to the 66 and 67 series that worked for other people, so I'm not sure what the problem could be.

    Is there any information I could give you that would help clarify my situation? I'm pretty new to linux.

    Thank you again!
    With gratitude,
    Andrew

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    127
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    thanks to all of you
    but i have a small problem
    when i click on any of AUD-in NODE it gave me only one option button in the connection list, any one can help

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    92
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    Ditto hero1900.

    I have a dv6985se, and I think I remember the built-in mikes working in Hardy, which depresses me (I don't want to downgrade). The problem with my laptop, as far as I could tell before reading this post, was that ALSA doesn't seem to know that the mikes exist. (I say mikes in the plural because there are two on either side of the webcam to form a stereo microphone... I don't know if that complicates my problem.) I base this assumption on what I see in Audacity. For the sound output, Audacity lists "ALSA: HDA Intel: ALC268 Analog (hw:0,0)", "ALSA: front", "ALSA: surround40", "ALSA: surround51", "ALSA: surround71", "ALSA: default", "ALSA: dmix", and "OSS: /dev/dsp". But for input, Audacity only has "ALSA: HDA Intel: ALC268 Analog (hw:0,0)", "ALSA: default", and "OSS: /dev/dsp". In addition to these, I remember it listing "ALSA: front" as a microphone.

    Well, I got through all the steps (thankfully), but I have no clue what to do next. The nodes labeled "AUD_IN" only have one radio button each in their "Connection List" boxes, and all the "PIN"s either have one radio button or none at all.

    Should I give you the output of some configuration file or something?

    [edit:]

    Okay, I figured out what you mean. The various nodes pipe the signal between themselves.
    There are two sound input nodes: Node[0x07] AUD_IN and Node[0x08] AUD_IN. These connect to Node[0x23] AUD_SEL and Node[0x24] AUD_SEL respectively. From here, these nodes both connected to Node[0x18] PIN. Herin lay the error. In the Config Default box of Node[0x18], the pin is labeled as exterior: "Jack location: Ext". Node[0x19], by contrast, is labeled interior. Because both AUD_SEL's were trying to connect to the same node, they were colliding. I'm guessing that the exterior mike won out over the interior one because when you connect a pair of headphones to the computer, the built-in speakers are automatically muted. I think the microphone was trying to do the same thing, except something in the computer thought a microphone was connected whether or not a mike was actually connected. To remedy this, I set Node[0x23] to connect to Pin Complex [0x19].

    The effect was this: The internal mike was operational, but the external wasn't. I put the computer in sleep mode and took it back out, and the external mike worked but the internal mike didn't. I restarted HDAAnalyzer and changed the settings again, and the internal one worked again. This could get annoying.

    Sorry about the lengthly writeup.
    Last edited by Potters Son; June 1st, 2009 at 02:19 AM.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3

    Unhappy Re: HP dv6000 Mic

    I downloaded the script to update alsa and at the end of the log file this is what it appears:
    HTML Code:
    checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
    checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
    checking for ALSA... configure: error: Package requirements (alsa >= 1.0.11) wer
    e not met:
    
    No package 'alsa' found
    
    Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
    installed software in a non-standard prefix.
    
    Alternatively, you may set the environment variables ALSA_CFLAGS
    and ALSA_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
    See the pkg-config man page for more details.
    
    alsa-plugins-1.0.19 configure failed
    When I run "sudo python run.py" it failed like this:

    HTML Code:
    Creating temporary directory: /dev/shm/hda-analyzer
    Downloading file hda_analyzer.py
    Downloading file hda_codec.py
    Downloaded all files, executing hda_analyzer.py
    No HDA codecs were found or insufficient priviledges for 
    /dev/snd/controlC* and /dev/snd/hwdepC*D* device files.
    
    You may also check, if you compiled HDA driver with HWDEP
    interface as well or close all application using HWDEP.
    
    Try run this program as root user.
    I appreciate any help

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •