Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 118

Thread: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by phrostbyte View Post
    Porting an entire desktop to a new graphical toolkit is basically like rewriting it. It would take years!

    It won't happen I don't think.
    The Gnome 1 -> Gnome 2 transition was exactly that: an entire Re-Write. Who would argue that we are not better off today with ditching Gtk1.0 and moving to Gtk2.0...? Sure there were teething problems, but in the long run, it was the right thing to do, as we now have a working file dialog, printing system, etc... In fact, many of the teething problems were due to the relative immaturity of Gtk2.0. On the contrary, Qt 4.5 is very mature and stable.

    I imagine in the long run, replacing Gtk with Qt would bring similar, if not more benefits.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Tuxland
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by gururise View Post
    The Gnome 1 -> Gnome 2 transition was exactly that: an entire Re-Write. Who would argue that we are not better off today with ditching Gtk1.0 and moving to Gtk2.0...? Sure there were teething problems, but in the long run, it was the right thing to do, as we now have a working file dialog, printing system, etc... In fact, many of the teething problems were due to the relative immaturity of Gtk2.0. On the contrary, Qt 4.5 is very mature and stable.

    I imagine in the long run, replacing Gtk with Qt would bring similar, if not more benefits.
    Well I think it's a bit different, GNOME was much smaller back then and easier to completely modify. Also Gtk1 -> Gtk2 is still easier then Gtk -> Qt. For one, Qt requires a different programming language then what most of Gnome is written in.
    Proud GNU/Linux zealot and lover of penguins
    "Value your freedom or you will lose it, teaches history." --Richard Stallman

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,534

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Rest assured that this will not ever happen.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by phrostbyte View Post
    For one, Qt requires a different programming language then what most of Gnome is written in.
    There exists, or used to exist, a C wrapper to Qt. This C wrapper could be brought back to life and used as the basis for the port of Gnomelibs to Qt.

    And with the proper Qt2Gtk engine running, the widgets would look exactly the same as they do now.. In fact, if done right, most end-users would not even know that Gnome switched from Gtk+ to Qt.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bolton, UK
    Beans
    668
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    It would be more difficult to port GNOME to Qt than it would be to start a new desktop environment from scratch.

    You'd spend years trying to get back to where you where and still improve on it at the same time. That would also go alongside having to create time for developing new features and apps.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by steeleyuk View Post
    It would be more difficult to port GNOME to Qt than it would be to start a new desktop environment from scratch.

    You'd spend years trying to get back to where you where and still improve on it at the same time. That would also go alongside having to create time for developing new features and apps.
    Apparently Mark Shuttleworth, the head financier of the Ubuntu Project, believes there is merit in porting Gnome to use Qt.

    Its about time to standardize on one GUI toolkit so that we can compete against Windows and MacOS. Their would also be other advantages, in terms of memory usage, to converging the libs.
    Last edited by gururise; January 14th, 2009 at 10:00 PM.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Beans
    6,115

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by gururise View Post
    Apparently Mark Shuttleworth, the head financier of the Ubuntu Project, believes there is merit in porting Gnome to use Qt.

    Its about time to standardize on one GUI toolkit so that we can compete against Windows and MacOS. Their would also be other advantages, in terms of memory usage, to converging the libs.
    But the thing is there would not be choice.
    I dont think getting rid of GTK is a good idea, as really we dont want to be like OSX or Windows... the same boring interface, the same boring approach to things...
    HOME BUILT SYSTEM! http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/22804/ Please vote up!
    remember kiddies: sudo rm -rf= BAD!, if someone tells you to do this, please ignore them unless YOU WANT YOUR SYSTEM WIPED

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by SunnyRabbiera View Post
    But the thing is there would not be choice.
    I dont think getting rid of GTK is a good idea, as really we dont want to be like OSX or Windows... the same boring interface, the same boring approach to things...
    I am not suggesting to get rid of GNOME. Rather, replace the Gtk toolkit with Qt.
    The Desktop Environments would still be different, and based upon differing libraries, in this case GnomeLibs and KDELibs.

    A user would still have the same choice he has today, and would still be able to choose between Gnome or KDE (or any other DE available). Replacing Gtk with Qt in Gnome would reduce memory usage of having both libs on your system and in memory, and would simplify the development of apps that work well within both desktop environments. GNOME would still exist, as would KDE. In fact, if done properly, GNOME users would not even notice a change, other than the ability to use KDE themes/widgets and reduced memory usage.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    34

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Mark is right

    Gnome must improve (in many ways) and a good way to do it, is using Qt.

    Of course it won't happen, maybe a working group can start creating a new desktop environment with the goals of GNOME, but also improving it where GNOME fails.

    Qt has a lot of advantages, now is supported by NOKIA and its license is all right. GNOME (or a kind of) using Qt means the most powerful and usable desktop ever done (even better than Mac OS X if it is done all right).

    Hopefully someone (probably someone from NOKIA) will notice it, and will skip KDE (the way it behaves is not nice with new users) and will start doing a kind of GNOME (or a kind of Aqua, or just a better user interface) easy to use (and configure) getting the power of Qt.

    That day, if it comes, I probably will use this new software even if it means say goodbye to Ubuntu. Because what we all want, apart of software freedom, is good software.

    GNOME engineers must know sometimes, the best way to go on, is just leave the past behind, and expend all the efforts evolving the ideas but rewriting source from the scratch.

    In my opinion the good part of KDE is Qt (with some great software and design decisions) and the bad part of GNOME is GTK

    Of course this change is radical, and doing it means some loses. But loses are not as big as advantages, because using Qt as "the linux paradigm" means unifying linux and making easier for software companies, to go "the linux way"
    Last edited by optimisme; January 14th, 2009 at 11:21 PM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    4newOtherOSTalk4umCsig
    Beans
    555

    Re: Port Gnome 3 to Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by gururise View Post
    y of Gtk2.0. On the contrary, Qt 4.5 is very mature and stable.

    I imagine in the long run, replacing Gtk with Qt would bring similar, if not more benefits.
    Hell, QT4.5 isn't even in the Ubuntu repos yet...which is a source of many problems on KDE4.2 and Kubuntu--as problems in 4.4.3 are solved, but cannot be seen as fixed by end users as Ubuntu is lagging (far) behind.

    Yes switching from GTK to QT would in the long run, save:

    -Time
    -Effort
    .
    .
    .

    And make sense. which is exactly why it will never happen.
    PhenomII 720x4@3.65gHz w/Zalman cooler,PNY Nvidia GTX260, 4GB, Arch64

    14 is NOT a random number!!!!!
    Arch Linux | new Other OS Talk forum

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •