Thread: Concept of installing applications on Linux

Beans

Concept of installing applications on Linux

Linux newbie here. I am just trying to understand how applications are installed under Linux.

Ubuntu gives us the luxury of a package manager. We look up the repository and hit install.

But I notice a lot of Linux apps only have the source available. What do I need to do if I want to install one of these apps and they are not availble for a the repository or built specifically for Ubuntu/Debian?

Also if I uninstall an app using package manager, does it remove everything which it had installed in the first place? One thing I love about Mac is that I can just drag the app into the trash can, and delete a few pref files in the usual places. Windows just creates a bit mess. How does Linux sit in with this respect?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Concept of installing applications on Linux

To learn how to compile from source - see the Compiling section in this tutorial: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=644478

If you use Add/Remove or Synaptic to uninstall, it will uninstall most additional (now unnecessary) components. However, "aptitude" used from the command line is slightly more powerful and removes everything, provided it is used to install in the first place. Synaptic uses "apt-get" (I believe), and I don't know if there is a GUI way to remove all unnecessary files.

This is what I recommend if you use the GUI installation procedure:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove package_name
    sudo apt-get autoremove
    If you want to remove the downloaded .debs, this has to be done en masse:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get clean
    You can use "purge" instead of "remove" to delete .debs as you go, but I don't think it works with autoremove.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

You have two options when uninstalling packages with the Synaptic PAckage Manager (or actually any package management tool).