Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [SOLVED] Network Config - Intenet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    [SOLVED] Network Config - Intenet

    Hi

    I just installed Kubuntu on a PC in a LAN.
    But Im unable to connect to the internet.
    ping 192.168.1.* works but ping google.com returns unknown host.

    I have this in my /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    #eth0 main
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    auto lo
    iface loopback inet loopback
    Is there something Im missing ?

    Code:
    user@mypc:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
    00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 01)
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 01)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)
    user@mypc:~$


    Thanks
    Last edited by anjanesh; January 11th, 2009 at 10:04 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    Try
    Code:
    ping 209.85.171.100
    If that works, you probably have a DNS problem. (Unfortunately, I don't have IP addresses for OpenDNS at my fingertips).
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    Im not at the Kubuntu machine now, but I'll check tomorrow morning.
    But if it does work, then what do I have to modify? Add nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf ?

    The LAN is connected to a router for which the default gateway is 192.168.1.1 which I added in /etc/network/interfaces

    Code:
    #eth0 main
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    gateway 192.168.1.1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    DNS addresses should probably be set up on router - which would inform DHCP clients. This post mentions a couple of addresses. Wikipedia lists four:
    * 208.67.222.222 (resolver1.opendns.com)
    * 208.67.220.220 (resolver2.opendns.com)
    * 208.67.222.220
    * 208.67.220.222
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    Quote Originally Posted by anjanesh View Post
    But if it does work, then what do I have to modify? Add nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf ?
    I think Kubuntu, just like Ubuntu, uses Network Manager.
    That means you have at least a few choices :

    1) Use Network Manager to let N.M. do the content of /etc/resolv.conf
    2) Remove Network Manager in case you want "the full control" with a customized /etc/network/interfaces and /etc/resolv.conf
    3) Remove Network Manager, and use wicd, http://wicd.sf.net

    Try option 1 first.
    And please post the output of
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    Odd ! ping 209.85.171.100 works ! 209.85.171.100 shows up google page on konqueror !

    Code:
    ~$cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    
    ~$cat /etc/network/interfaces
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    ~$route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
    link-local      *               255.255.0.0     U     1000   0        0 eth0
    default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    100    0        0 eth0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    Solved.
    I edited /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.conf
    and uncommented prepend domain-name-servers and added the DNS servers here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    Quote Originally Posted by anjanesh View Post
    Solved.
    I edited /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.conf
    and uncommented prepend domain-name-servers and added the DNS servers here.
    Good. Interesting solution!

    Please mark this thread as SOLVED, thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Network Config - Intenet

    On the Windows PCs which are on the same LAN, the DNS servers mentioned on all Windows PCs are
    Code:
    203.xx.xxx.70
    203.xx.xxx.70
    While the DNS servers mentioned in the router is
    Code:
    203.xx.xxx.1
    203.xx.xxx.1
    So Im guessing that the DNS in the router is wrong and should've been 203.xx.xxx.70 instead of 203.xx.xxx.1.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •