Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH USA
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Lightbulb Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    ok, so installed windows 7 beta today and i want to add it to my grub menu

    here is how i have it set up...

    boot off my 200gb pata drive, that has two partitions
    165gb for storage
    25gb for ubuntu studio

    then my 500gb sata drive has three partitions
    75gb for windows 7
    200gb for windows vista
    125gb for more storage
    (the rest unallocated for future use)

    before i installed windows 7, i unplugged my pata drive so windows wouldn't screw it up... that said i want to add windows 7 to grub with out the risk of losing any or all of my patitions... i haven't done anything except for using the 'fdisk -lu' command which displayed:

    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 203.9 GB, 203928109056 bytes
    240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 26342 cylinders, total 398297088 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000001
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1       347094720   398291039    25598160   83  Linux
    /dev/sda2   *       15120   347094719   173539800    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5           15183   347091038   173537928    7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xfbb68a7a
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1   *        2048   409602047   204800000    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2       409602048   665602047   128000000    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb3       665602048   819202039    76799996    7  HPFS/NTFS
    where do i go from here?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    7,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    like this:

    gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

    http://users.bigpond.net.au/hermanzo...irst_hard_disk
    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sdb1
    title Windows 7
    root (hd1,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1
    edit /etc/fstab so windows partitions are accesible in linux:

    sudo apt-get install ntfs-config

    sudo ntfs-config

    add mount points in /media for windows partitions

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    38

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    Thanks for your post, logos. Unfortunately, when I edited my menu.lst in the way you posted and I choose "Windows 7" from the GRUB menu, it just gives me a message that BOOTMGR is missing and tells me to restart with Ctrl+Alt+Del. My setup (in case it's affecting things) involves one 150 GB drive with an Ubuntu partition and then a partition for Windows (which registers as hd1) and a 750 GB drive with one NTFS partition (which registers as hd0).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    hyderabad
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    When U installed Windows7 ,installer might have put bootmgr and c:\Boot on your Vista partition.Try to copy/paste the bootmgr and the Boot folder from the root of your vista partition to the root of Windows 7 partition
    You can Follow Me Here and My Blog Here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    7,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by maxmartin View Post
    BOOTMGR is missing and tells me to restart with Ctrl+Alt+Del. My setup (in case it's affecting things) involves one 150 GB drive with an Ubuntu partition and then a partition for Windows (which registers as hd1) and a 750 GB drive with one NTFS partition (which registers as hd0).
    so is it set up like kranny says--vista on the other drive, or is the 750 just a huge data partition?

    Post your

    sudo fdisk -l

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    38

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    Sorry, I wasn't clear - I just set up this computer, so Windows 7 is the first Windows I've installed on it. The partition on my system drive is for it. The other drive is just for file storage.

    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 750.1 GB, 750156374016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0006d2fb
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       91201   732572001    7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 150.0 GB, 150039945216 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 18241 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000c326c
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1        9123    73280466   83  Linux
    /dev/sdb2            9124        9305     1461915    5  Extended
    /dev/sdb3   *        9306       18242    71779328    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb5            9124        9305     1461883+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x24b1b889
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1               1      121602   976762552+   7  HPFS/NTFS

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    7,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by maxmartin View Post
    BOOTMGR is missing and tells me to restart with Ctrl+Alt+Del. My setup (in case it's affecting things) involves one 150 GB drive with an Ubuntu partition and then a partition for Windows (which registers as hd1) and a 750 GB drive with one NTFS partition (which registers as hd0).
    Ok, if your boot drive/hd0 (i.e. just to be crystal clear, the hdd set first in the bios boot priority) is the 750 GB, then this grub entry should work:

    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sdb3
    title Windows 7
    root (hd1,2)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1
    If instead, you're really booting from the 150 GB, then you don't need the mapping:

    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sdb3
    title Windows 7
    root (hd0,2)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    You might want to remove the usb stick just to avoid any confusion
    Last edited by logos34; January 12th, 2009 at 07:18 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    38

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    I am booting from the 150 GB drive...not sure how the boot order got screwed up. But anyways, that change did the trick - thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    38

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    EDIT: Disregard what I posted earlier - I was just having trouble mounting disks because Windows 7 won't shut down cleanly.
    Last edited by maxmartin; January 12th, 2009 at 10:04 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: Add Windows 7 to Grub Menu

    this is how i boot every OS that isnt Linux and has its own bootloader installed:
    Code:
    rootnoverify(hdN)
    chainloader
    boot
    replace N with the Nth disk on which the OS is installed.
    for example

    if i have disk A (0) and B (1), linux will map those to /dev/hda and /dev/hda (or sd* but that doesn't matter at the moment)
    As long as you know WHERE they're mapped to, thats the important thing you have

    So, if you have 3 disks (0,1,2) you'll have the following:
    (hd0) (hd1) and (hd2)
    lets assume hd2 doesnt matter. Lets assume that hd0 has your linux install on it and hd1 has Win7 installed.
    Simply add this to your menu:
    Code:
    #windows 7
    title Windows se7en beta
    root(hd1)
    chainloader
    at this point i want to know how to fake out the INSTALLER to let me install to an emulated disk >.>

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •