Thread: i know what is causing the firefox flash crash!!

Beans

Lightbulb i know what is causing the firefox flash crash!!

i found out what it is..

after installing debian etch, which had the same problem, and now on debianLenny which took me 4 installs to get it right(im fairly new to the linux world and did everything from the cli from memory)

again, with a new install of not ubuntu, but straight debian, same thing happens, no flash plugin=no crashing super stable,
    flash installed=lockup/crash.. or in full screen mode flash locks the whole machine/xserver. very reproducible.

so anywayz...

i know what it is, and i think for the people that the
    firefoxrc dsp= fix,
    or the export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1 fix,
    or the default 24bit fix didn't work,
    or all the different settings in xorg you can fiddle with..

you need to look at your sound card, or onboard sound built onto the motherboard.

i played with a million settings, reinstalled operating systems, i'd say now about 8 times,just to fix the flash issue. can you imagine, i nuked intrepid, and reinstalled it 3 times just for flash, and now just recently spent DAYZ to figure out how to install debian properly just for this issue, and when it still crashed in my new debian etch and lenny install(tried both), i almost cried im tellin ya............
    i tried tons of different settings in xorg, and dont have compiz or anything special installed.. nothing worked, i've been at this for MONTHS now... MONTHS of hrs and hrs of work just on this problem.. im so sick of it.

when i disabled my onboard sound in the bios, the problem is completely gone. i opened 15 flash vids(ya, was choppy n slow..hehe because so many open but), no crashing at all, and i do full screen on and off, back forward, and let it run for hrs while i went and cleaned the snow.