Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    59

    Question problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

    I've been using ubuntu since edgy. Until Intrepid, I used to configure my pppoe settings with pppoeconf tool in terminal. After that, it used to connect to the internet automatically after boot and networking was working with samba. However, in Intrepid, I wanted to use networkmanager applet to handle my pppoe internet and network configurations. I added a DSL connection for internet and It self-created a network connection named "Ifupdown (eth0)". DLS connection can access to the internet when selected but can't access to (also can't see) any computers on network. On the other hand, Ifupdown can see and access to computers on network, it can't connect to the internet. I want to enable them both at the same time but they are made as radio buttons in the applet. Is there a way to enable them both or making a connection which supports both network and pppoe connections? waiting for your help...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    59

    Re: problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

    nobody?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

    post output of ifconfig from the terminal

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    59

    Re: problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

    this is with ifupdown (which network works)
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:3e:47:35
    inet addr:192.168.4.114 Bcast:192.168.7.255 Mask:255.255.248.0
    inet6 addr: fec0::8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Site
    inet6 addr: 2002:d4ae:fb7d:8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Global
    inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1799 errors:0 dropped:7270134114 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:162839 (162.8 KB) TX bytes:10850 (10.8 KB)
    Interrupt:249 Base address:0x4000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:68:93:30:df
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-22-68-93-30-DF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    and this is DSL which internet works but network doesn't

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:3e:47:35
    inet6 addr: fec0::8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Site
    inet6 addr: 2002:d4ae:fb7d:8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Global
    inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:4032 errors:0 dropped:16919199085 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:106 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:380016 (380.0 KB) TX bytes:17580 (17.5 KB)
    Interrupt:249 Base address:0x4000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    ppp0 Link encapoint-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:88.255.192.186 P-t-P:88.255.192.3 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1488 Metric:1
    RX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:522 (522.0 B) TX bytes:478 (478.0 B)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:68:93:30:df
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-22-68-93-30-DF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

    which ubuntu version are you using?? try giving eth0 a static ip.. and then connect ppp0 and then try internet and network access

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    59

    Re: problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

    I'm using ubuntu 8.10. By the way I can't give eth0 a static IP because the network I use gives everybody different IP's everytime. Therefore, If I do, there may be conflicts.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Frankfurt aM, Germany
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0

    Are you able to edit the ifupdown (eth*) connection? If not, you can let NetworkManager manage it by disabling the connection entry in /etc/network/interfaces created by pppoeconf; it should end with something like:
    Code:
    iface eth* inet dhcp
    Put a # (comment) mark before this line. Then restart and NetworkManager won't have this "ifupdown (eth*)" connection anymore. (Which may be interfering with your DSL connection as configured by NM)

    I hope this is clear otherwise I can post more.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •