Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please help with tarballs! I'm totally trying, REALLY!

Beans

Angry Please help with tarballs! I'm totally trying, REALLY!

Hi, all,
    Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong in the below tarball install try? I can get to the directory (folder) which contains the files. You can see i did the cd command. Then I try to configure it and get the error below. I am a real newbie and trying to learn all the terminal command stuff on my own. But with tarballs, I always get stuck here. By the way, the install text file in the program instructions says the shell commands "./configure, make, and make install" should work to configure, build, and install. The first thing I did was to open the containing folder from the package manager and put it in the usr folder in the home directory, then changed the directory in terminal to point to that very same folder. I hope this makes sense, I have no idea what I'm talking about
    Please talk in beginner-ease. I'm having a lot of fun, but these tarballs have me totally frustrated! Terminal text follows::

garwyn@garwyn-laptop:~/src/gnome-color-chooser-0.2.4$ ./configure
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
    checking for gawk... no
    checking for mawk... mawk
    checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
    checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
    checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
    checking for DEPS... configure: error: Package requirements (gtkmm-2.4 >= 2.8.0 libglademm-2.4 >= 2.6.0 libgnome-2.0 >= 2.16.0 libgnomeui-2.0 >= 2.14.0 libxml-2.0 >= 2.6.0 ) were not met:

No package 'gtkmm-2.4' found
    No package 'libglademm-2.4' found
    No package 'libgnome-2.0' found
    No package 'libgnomeui-2.0' found
    No package 'libxml-2.0' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you