Thread: Samba Problems with NAS

Beans

Samba Problems with NAS

Hi I've recently installed Ubuntu onto a laptop and I'm fairly new to it. I'm getting used to apt, terminal, commands etc.

I'm having a problem with a NAS on my network it shares its drives using samba and I've had no problems accessing it from Windows XP.

I want to access it using Ubuntu 8.10 when i enter smb://<nas name>/ the drive contents appear (the drive is using FAT 32), a few directories but when I try and open one nautilus takes me back to my home directory. Has anybody had anything similar and been able to rectify it.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Samba Problems with NAS

Not an adequate solution, but see if it works:
    Quote Originally Posted by superprash2003 View Post
    try typing smb://x.x.x.x where x.x.x.x is the ip of the windows machine.. it hopefully should open the shared folders.. http://prash-babu.blogspot.com/2008/...olders-in.html
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

Beans

I have the exact same problem with my Eagle NAS on Ubuntu 8.10. Typing //192.168.1.250 does not help. I am able to connect to the ftp server, but I can't load a file from the NAS in my non-Ubuntu aps. I have my Thunderbird mail folders on the NAS and would like to direct Thunderbird in Linux to it, but it doesn't see the NAS even after I mount the ftp.

Beans

Having same problems with Landisk NAS device and Ubuntu 8.10 which is driving me to distraction....

I have a dual-booting WinXP/Ubuntu machine which was accessing multiple shares on the NAS with Hardy without any problems (using Nautilus).

Since I 'upgraded' to Intrepid I cannot connect to the shares via smb with "Mount error 5 - input/output error" being the most consistent result.

I have tried SMB4k, various command line methods and sticking mounts in fstab but all with no joy.