Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Taskbar that doesnt require compiz/core

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    26

    Re: Taskbar that doesnt require compiz/core

    I tried sim dock but Im having a problem.

    I right click the dock and click add launcher but and then
    when I put everything in it just says "error, could not load background image"
    So all it does is display open programs but I cant place programs there and
    click on them when I want.

    And I guess I could try gdesklets but I dont want desklets. Just the bar.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cologne, Europe
    Beans
    2,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Taskbar that doesnt require compiz/core

    I fiddled around with Simdock and it indeed seems to be broken, as it doesn't save the newly added icons.

    A workaround is configuring the config file yourself. It is located in your home directory in a hidden folder called .SimDock

    You can open it like this (on GNOME):
    Code:
    gedit ~/.SimDock/launchers.xml
    There you have to add new launchers like this:
    Code:
    <Program>
      <SimDock>
        <path>/usr/bin/firefox</path>
        <icon>/usr/share/pixmaps/firefox-3.0.png</icon>
        <description>Firefox web browser</description>
        <name>Firefox</name>
      </SimDock>
      <SimDock>
        <path>/usr/bin/gedit</path>
        <icon>/usr/share/icons/gnome/32x32/apps/text-editor.png</icon>
      </SimDock>
      <SimDock>
        <path>gnome-terminal</path>
        <icon>/usr/share/icons/gnome/32x32/apps/gnome-terminal.png</icon>
      </SimDock>
    </Program>
    You see, a new launcher begins with the <SimDock> tag and ends with </SimDock>
    All you need to add is the path to the application (in most cases in /usr/bin) but you do not have to give the exact path.
    As you can see gnome-terminal is enough if it's in /usr/bin

    It's vital to add an icon path, though. Nearly any image filetype will do (except for .svg, which is actually pretty unfortunate).
    Many application icons are stored in /usr/share/pixmaps or under /usr/share/icons


    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by Forlong; January 3rd, 2009 at 01:28 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Rome, Ga
    Beans
    2,339
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Taskbar that doesnt require compiz/core

    Quote Originally Posted by fabounet View Post
    if you don't run a compositor you can't have transparency, means you will have a black background.
    activate the fake transparency in the Cairo-Dock's config to get rid of it (in the System tab).
    On the contrary, in gdesklets, there is a taskbar that you can edit the background on to be transparent.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    26

    Re: Taskbar that doesnt require compiz/core

    Very helpful forlong thank you!
    Is there a way to add a launcher of go to desktop?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cologne, Europe
    Beans
    2,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Taskbar that doesnt require compiz/core

    Quote Originally Posted by josephcohen View Post
    Is there a way to add a launcher of go to desktop?
    No, I'm afraid that's not possible.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    4,122
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Taskbar that doesnt require compiz/core

    Quote Originally Posted by BLTicklemonster View Post
    How do you do that?
    Alt-F2->gconf-editor->Run->apps->metacity->general->compositing_manager

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •