Thread: Linksys WPC600N Card- EAccessViolation

Beans

Question [Solved:] Linksys WPC600N Card- EAccessViolation

I'm fairly new to Linux, just to let you all know. I know basics and that's about it.

Anyway, for Christmas a friend of mine got me a Linksys WPC600N Duel Band Wireless-N Notebook Adapter card. My CD drive is broken (it's an old laptop, Inspiron 4100 with the most recent xubuntu on it), so I downloaded the driver off of the Linksys website. I go through the installation. Starts with a "Get started!" button, followed by the license agreement, then installation, then plugging in the card, then the "Finish" screen.

I plug in the card at the appropriate time, however when I do so and click "Next", the installation crashes and a screen pops up with the title "WLAN_cfg" and the error message reading "EAccessViolation" with the typical red X icon to the left of it. I thought maybe that it was because i didn't have NDiswrapper or whatever it's called installed. I downloaded it, became completely confused, and started searching online. I was recommended to try DriverLoader. I did so, and, though with a lot of trouble, was able to install it. I went to re-install the card's driver. This time it begins by uninstalling the original installation, and ended with the same error message. I once again searched the error message in google, but to no avail.

So I figured i'd just post... any suggestions?

[EDIT]: Also forgot to mention that the card isn't even lighting up... I'm thinking that it's probably some sort of hardware issue, but it would have to be a problem with the card, because my current D-Link Ethernet Connection express-card is working just fine when i plug it in. So... yeah.. idk if it makes a difference, i thought it would light up once everything was properly installed, but idk for sure. My D-Link one lights up only when connected to the internet, so I also figured that the wireless one would light up once connected as well.

~Nick~