Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need n00b style help, several issues with Intrepid

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

I need n00b style help, several issues with Intrepid

hello again Ubuntu Forums people,

I feel like i should know this stuff by this point since i am far from a newbie (you can tell from the date on my avatar), but i still am not clear about the way Ubuntu handles certain operations and also I have once again returned to Ubuntu after another year-long hiatus in the wonderful virus-filled world of XP, so i have gotten a bit rusty, shall we say...

I have recently gotten into web development and i am trying to build a system that can be used for development work, and have come across some issues.

1. Whats the best way to install the following programs without apt-get (lets assume i get stuck without a net connection on a regular basis), because the way they install themselves seems really haphazard. They don't seem to follow any set pattern. One might install itself to /opt, another will go in /usr/bin, yet another will install in /home?

Also what should i be using to install, my 'normal' user or sudo/root?

JDK 6
    Netbeans
    Postgresql
    Mysql
    Apache
    Ruby

2. Uninstalling programs is not always as obvious as it is on Windows. How am i supposed to uninstall things that are not installed with apt-get, why is it so random? This is not meant to sound like a whinge, but i wish Linux would just get a standard package management system already!

3. I find it incredulous that for whatever reason, licensing, the GPL, etc., that i can't play a MP3 out of the box on Intrepid. Am I the only one who finds this a bit unacceptable? I haven't kept up with different distros, but i remember there was one that was based on Ubuntu but that came with the all required codecs from the start. can someone tell me if they know?

4. is it possible to run dual-boot WinXP & Ubuntu without using Grub? im thinking about adding Mac OSX, would grub handle this?