Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    21

    prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

    hi..i have ubuntu edgy 6.10 ..i m not able to run azureus at a particular time in gui...i have copied the different option which i tried and pasted here.

    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -e
    crontab: installing new crontab
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -l
    # m h dom mon dow command
    39 00 * * * export DISPLAY=:0 && ./azureus
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -e
    crontab: installing new crontab
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -l
    # m h dom mon dow command
    41 00 * * * export DISPLAY=:0 && /opt/azureus/azureus
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -e
    crontab: installing new crontab
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -l
    # m h dom mon dow command
    43 00 * * * env DISPLAY=:0.0 /opt/azureus/azureus
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -e
    crontab: installing new crontab
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -e
    crontab: installing new crontab
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$ sudo crontab -l
    # m h dom mon dow command
    45 00 * * * env DISPLAY=:0.0 ./azureus
    arun@arun-desktop:/opt/azureus$

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,510
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

    Quote Originally Posted by arunprasad13 View Post
    hi..i have ubuntu edgy 6.10 ..i m not able to run azureus at a particular time in gui...i have copied the different option which i tried and pasted here.
    ........
    Do not run mixed commands, run a script that contains commands.

    There are many posts already in the forums on what to do.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

    hi..i did ample searching before posting the thread..i tried various it in various combinations..but none of the really work for me...i think i m doing some basic mistake

    when i read other forums regarding this ,the same format which i have tried is said to be working...whereas it doesn work for me..
    thats the reason why i pasted the code specifically instead of asking a generic doubt as i did last time around..i have throughly utilised the help pages and forum links which was given to me in t he previous threats besides my own efforts to fix the problem

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,510
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

    Quote Originally Posted by arunprasad13 View Post
    hi..i did ample searching before posting the thread..i tried various it in various combinations..but none of the really work for me...i think i m doing some basic mistake

    when i read other forums regarding this ,the same format which i have tried is said to be working...whereas it doesn work for me..
    thats the reason why i pasted the code specifically instead of asking a generic doubt as i did last time around..i have throughly utilised the help pages and forum links which was given to me in t he previous threats besides my own efforts to fix the problem
    A forum search of "azureus cron" brings up heaps of posts, a lot which have exactly what you need.

    I suggest you try again.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    551
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

    Be sure that when you manually edit the crontab file that you leave an empty line at the end below all your commands or it wont execute any of the commands at all.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    322
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper

    Re: prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

    Add your username to the cron.allow file:
    Code:
    sudo bash -c 'echo "username" >> /etc/cron.allow'
    Edit your crontab (without sudo):
    Code:
    crontab -e
    Add your cron job:
    Code:
    45 00 * * * env DISPLAY=:0. /opt/azureus/azureus
    The above cron job assumes azureus is located in /opt/azureus/ and should be launched at 12:45 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: prbolems while running GUI applications using CRONTAB

    thank you dagnabit dang doohickey...! although i saw in few posts that the cron.allow file should be edited..i thot it was only when when such a file existed..so i never followed that part...thanks for your guidance...my problem is fixed..!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •