Thread: Ubuntu on a brand new MacBook: Is it worth it?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Ubuntu on a brand new MacBook: Is it worth it?

I've got the opportunity to get a new MacBook and really like the way they look and operate. I like OSX, but don't want to give up Ubuntu since I've been using it for about six months now and have really become productive while using it. I've looked up quite a bit about the bugs and issues that come with running Ubuntu on the new MacBook hardware. I've seen things like the sound isn't working and the battery runs down really quickly. So my question to the people who are running is the above: is it worth the trouble? There's a Dell with similar specs that I know would run Intrepid nearly flawlessly on first boot, but I'm leaning toward the MacBook. Thoughts?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Ubuntu on a brand new MacBook: Is it worth it?

Quote Originally Posted by ColBuendia71 View Post
    I've got the opportunity to get a new MacBook and really like the way they look and operate. I like OSX, but don't want to give up Ubuntu since I've been using it for about six months now and have really become productive while using it. I've looked up quite a bit about the bugs and issues that come with running Ubuntu on the new MacBook hardware. I've seen things like the sound isn't working and the battery runs down really quickly. So my question to the people who are running is the above: is it worth the trouble? There's a Dell with similar specs that I know would run Intrepid nearly flawlessly on first boot, but I'm leaning toward the MacBook. Thoughts?
    If you want OSX, then you need a Mac...

Beans
    Distro

I'm aware that I need a Mac if I want OSX. But I'm going back and forth on which I want more: Ubuntu or OSX. If Ubuntu doesn't run well on on the MacBook, then I might choose to forgo it altogether. How about programs like Fink? Do they do a good job of bringing open source apps to OSX?

Beans
    Distro