Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: stuck in an infinite loop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    9

    stuck in an infinite loop

    Hey everyone.
    I have only been using Linux for a week and love it already.
    I do have one recurring issue that I dont seem to be able to fix.

    As you can see from my xorg the mouse is causing this loop.
    I dont understand what it means though.
    I have been able to stop it by disabling the Nvidia drivers and using the non 3d accelerated ones.
    However I would of course like to be able to have exposse and all the other graphical effects running too.

    My system is,
    AMD 6000+
    8800 Ultra
    Asus Crosshair
    4GB ram
    (have 2 mice connected currently, both do it individually too)

    Im running 8.10 64 bit version. I have compiz installed for the effects.

    If anyone can offer any advice I would be very grateful.

    I am still at a stage where I need to be told the whole terminal commands though.
    I will learn in time.


    The loop message at the bottom of the xorg repeats for pages.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by lam47; December 15th, 2008 at 09:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    STL, MO
    Beans
    1,283
    Distro
    Kubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    I'm not really sure what's going on in the attached file. Do you have a liveCD that you boot from? Does the same problem happend? Are you able to reproduce it? You can always try to reconfigure the xserver with
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xorg-server
    Unless you have some non-US keyboard, don't change any settings, just accept the defaults. Your Nvidia graphics card won't be using the proprietary drivers, so you will need to set them up again.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    I have tried the config and it boots OK no loop.
    As soon as I enable the 177 drivers for the GPU I get the same loop.
    No problems from a live CD as the drivers are not installed.
    It makes no sense as other people are running them fine.

    Thanks for the reply.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    STL, MO
    Beans
    1,283
    Distro
    Kubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    Not sure what to tell you. You could try the new beta drivers from Nvidia. I'm using them, and they appear to run smoothly. However, installing Nvidia's drivers manually is pretty nasty, and I've never had much luck upgrading them.

    If you want to try, get the proper driver from http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

    Once downloaded, close out all your applications and press Crtl+Alt+F1. Login.
    install some necessary files
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install build-essential kernel-source
    stop the x server
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/kdm stop
    replace kdm with gdm if you are using gnome
    install the driver
    Code:
    sudo sh ./Desktop/NVIDIA...
    once you type NVIDIA you can press tab to complete the line. Follow the directions and restart when you are done.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    I will give them a go thanks man.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brugge, België
    Beans
    2,933

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    It's seems like a bug in xserver-xorg-core or xserver-xorg-video-nv.

    Downgrading those packages to an earlier version should work according to the debian bug report.

    http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=462127

    I have decided to downgrade/revert to the version I had before
    experiencing this bug, which is xserver-xorg-core 2:1.4.1~git20071119-1
    2:1.4 and xserver-xorg-video-nv 1:2.1.6-1.

    However that bug report is almost a year old, so it could be something completely different.

    Go to launchpad an file a bug report.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    STL, MO
    Beans
    1,283
    Distro
    Kubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    I forgot to say to choose the beta driver section. On the page where you fill out what card and system you have, don't select search. Below that there is a link to get beta drivers. The most current version, as of yesterday, is 180.116

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brugge, België
    Beans
    2,933

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    Quote Originally Posted by jbrown96 View Post
    I forgot to say to choose the beta driver section. On the page where you fill out what card and system you have, don't select search. Below that there is a link to get beta drivers. The most current version, as of yesterday, is 180.116
    I don't think it's a good idea to advice new users on using beta drivers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    well it all seemed to install correctly but now I just get this screen on boot.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: stuck in an infinite loop

    Well I decided to try a fresh install and even a different distro.
    I installed Opensuse which could not even recognize my mice.
    It failed to do something on first startup, I could not see what exactly as it went so quick but there was a big red failed!
    Not sure what to do now.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •