Thread: [SOLVED] Can't get bluetooth mouse and keyboard paired

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Question [SOLVED] Can't get bluetooth mouse and keyboard paired

Have a msft 5000 bluetooth notebook mouse 5000 and a Rocketfish bluetooth keyboard. I am attempting to pair with my ASUS EeePC 1000H. I am getting the message (quote) 'Couldn't display "Obex://[00:18:A3:00:40:D9]/".

Error: Host down
    please select another viewer and try again.' (end quote).

I am a newbie and am at a loss as to what to do - I need the bluetooth mouse and keyboard - the ASUS mousepad is too sensitive and I have fat fingers that constantly touch the mousepad and prematurely execute commands with the mousepad.

The workarounds I have found in HOWTO books are incomplete and confusing - some reference files (I don't know if the files are needed or not) that I do not have, or the files reside somewhere else on the computer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Newoldguyindenver

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: Can't get bluetooth mouse and keyboard paired

I am going to assume you are running Ubuntu 8.10, if not let me know.

Make sure your bluetooth adapter is on and open your bluetooth preferences.
    Click: System > Preferences > Bluetooth

Click on the add button and follow the directions. To make your mouse discoverable hold down the tiny button on the bottom until the light on top flashes between green and red. Wait until the mouse is listed in the device box (it could take about 20-30 seconds).

I'm not sure how to make your keyboard discoverable but it should be something similar. Check the manual if you are not sure.

If you pair either device with another OS or different computer you probably need to repeat this process.

I'm using that exact mouse right now so I know it works.
    Good luck.