Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some basic knowledge

Beans

Question Some basic knowledge

As a total beginner with Linux and Ubuntu I seem to lack some basic skills. For instance, when trying to save or move certain files I sometimes get an error message saying I don't have permission to carry out the actions.
    Surely, I as the owner of my computer, would like to be able to do all that is needed. There must be some setting or likewise that will give me total control of my computer and operating language?

Ollie

Beans

Re: Some basic knowledge

physically you may own the hardware but when it comes to the OS, you only "own" your home directory, root owns the rest of the system. In order to do anything outside your home folder, you need to do it as sudo. This is to prevent us from doing something stupid to the OS.
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Duck2006 View Post
    thanks for the link, I knew there was one around somewhere, just couldn't think where and didn't want to go digging for it
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

bin etc initrd.img.old mnt root tmp vmlinuz
    boot home lib opt sbin usr vmlinuz.old
    cdrom initrd lost+found proc srv var
    dev initrd.img media Recycled sys $VAULT$.AVG

That's all the directories I have. Each branches out to subdirectories. Under /home there is onlt one user: bloch

So /home/bloch is the only directory (with all subdirectories) where I can move and delete as I please.