Thread: Asus F5RL

Beans

Asus F5RL

SOLUTION FOR ASUS F5RL (AND MAYBE OTHERS) USERS - HOW TO GET WIFI RUNNING:

I, like many F5RL users, have been struggling to get wifi working. Getting to the point of installing the packages but never actually getting the LED to turn on nor actually find any wireless networks to connect to.

The solution, however, is REALLY SIMPLE.

You simply need to UNLOAD the asus laptop module!!!!

sudo modprobe -r asus-laptop

in terminal. This will enable you to flip the wireless switch on AND connect to networks.

I do not know whether this will work on a fresh install. I did this after installing fresh 8.10, updating it and then following this guide: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=816780

It should be known that I am not to credit for this. I am simply passing on information found here on the forum and on this website: http://madberry.org/2008/11/how-to-g...x/#comment-355

I am new to the Ubuntu community and I dont know how to pass this on to people in charge of the ubuntu wikis and FAQs. It is imperative however that this is published in all appropriate forums and wikis so that Asus owners can enjoy Ubuntu, and so that this bug is fixed, enabling out of the box or at least easier use of Ubuntu on Asus computers.
    Last edited by rock_fredde; December 9th, 2008 at 01:00 PM. Reason: found solution

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

Exclamation Re: Asus F5RL

Just a note from my own experience with the asus F5RL.

Removing this module has not changed anything for me.
    I have the wifi working following the same post and with or without the asus-laptop module, I need to switch off/on the wifi at login screen so it works.

Still trying to understand the link between the acpid daemon and maybe the stopping of the wifi led.

Merry christmas.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Talking Re: Asus F5RL

Hey. Thanks loads. I dont know how it happened. But it worked.

Code:
    sudo modprobe -r asus-laptop