Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    I did a successful install of Slackware, but I'm having trouble using Grub to boot it. The first time I installed it and tried getting Grub to boot it I got an "Error 17 Cannot Mount Selected Partition" and "File system Unknown" when trying to boot it. I thought it had to do with using the JFS file system, so I reinstalled it with an ext2 file system. But I still got the same error. The installation and boot worked on my laptop just fine, but not on my desktop. Gparted detected the partition just fine.

    Here's my menu.lst
    Code:
    title		Slackware Linux (Slackware 12.1.0) (on /dev/sda7)
    root		(hd0,0)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz-huge-2.6.24.5 root=/dev/sda7
    savedefault
    boot
    Any help will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Beans
    8,111

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    Usually getting a Grub error 17 when booting an OS entry in Grub's menu means that the (hdX,Y) is wrong. How about first posting:
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -lu
    And please identify your Slackware partition. Also, for each of the drives fdisk lists, like sda, sdb, etc, please post the output of:
    Code:
    sudo xxd  -l  2 -p /dev/sda
    So replace "sda" above with each of your drives. Note "-l" is a lowercase L, not a one. And finally, for each command above that returns "eb48", please post:
    Code:
    sudo xxd -s 1049 -l 2 -p /dev/sda
    And replace sda with the drives that previously returned "eb48". That will greatly clarify what your setup is like.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by caljohnsmith View Post
    Usually getting a Grub error 17 when booting an OS entry in Grub's menu means that the (hdX,Y) is wrong. How about first posting:
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -lu
    And please identify your Slackware partition. Also, for each of the drives fdisk lists, like sda, sdb, etc, please post the output of:
    Code:
    sudo xxd  -l  2 -p /dev/sda
    So replace "sda" above with each of your drives. Note "-l" is a lowercase L, not a one. And finally, for each command above that returns "eb48", please post:
    Code:
    sudo xxd -s 1049 -l 2 -p /dev/sda
    And replace sda with the drives that previously returned "eb48". That will greatly clarify what your setup is like.
    sudo fdisk -lu
    Code:
    disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders, total 488397168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xcab10bee
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *          63   307339514   153669726    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2       307339515   470270744    81465615    5  Extended
    /dev/sda3       470270745   488392064     9060660    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda5       463539573   470270744     3365586   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6       307339641   425658239    59159299+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda7       430847298   463539509    16346106   83  Linux
    /dev/sda8       425658303   430847234     2594466   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    Partition /dev/sda7 is Slackware while /dev/sda8 is it's swap.

    Code:
    /dev/sda1: eb52
    2:xxd: /dev/sda2: No such file or directory
    3: e9a7
    5:0000
    6:0000
    7:0000
    8:0000
    and finally:
    Code:
    1:0066
    NOTE: I may have found the problem, look at the attached picture.
    I took space from my linux mint partition to make my slackware partitions, so now they're in /dev/sda2.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Beans
    8,111

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    OK, if Slackware is on sda7, that would be (hd0,6) in Grub's Convoluted World, so I think all you would need to do is change all your Slackware Grub entries to use "root (hd0,6)" instead of the "root (hd0,0)" that you show in the first post. How about giving that a shot and let me know how it goes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by caljohnsmith View Post
    OK, if Slackware is on sda7, that would be (hd0,6) in Grub's Convoluted World, so I think all you would need to do is change all your Slackware Grub entries to use "root (hd0,6)" instead of the "root (hd0,0)" that you show in the first post. How about giving that a shot and let me know how it goes.
    Thank you, it boots up now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    582

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    Just out of interest did you not like lilo? I've found lilo to be easier and more reliable than GRUB. But that's my experience just curious to know yours.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Vince4Amy View Post
    Just out of interest did you not like lilo? I've found lilo to be easier and more reliable than GRUB. But that's my experience just curious to know yours.
    I just didn't install LILO because I already had GRUB installed. I've used LILO on my old computer for DEli Linux, no problems as far as I could tell.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    582

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    Oh I understand fair enough.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Slackware 12.1: GRUB Issues

    another thing i noticed on your setup is your using 2 swap partitions, you only need 1, i dual boot ubuntu and slackware and both feed off the same swap, swap is hdd based ram (simplistic and not totaly correct but close enough) now if changing it is going to be a pain it does not hurt any thing but you could free up some space by just using 1 swap partition.
    to error is human to forgive is not in the computers realm of ability

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •