Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    3,052

    Cool fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    I have my local network mounted to a directory (/net) using fusesmb, but it's *VERY* fragile and buggy. If I try to copy a batch of files from a share to my local computer, it will copy the first few and then the mount will simply crash.

    Excerpt:
    Code:
    cp: cannot stat `ship4reb.sgr': Transport endpoint is not connected
    cp: cannot stat `shipani1.sgr': Transport endpoint is not connected
    cp: cannot stat `shipani2.sgr': Transport endpoint is not connected
    cp: cannot stat `shipani3.sgr': Transport endpoint is not connected
    cp: cannot stat `shipani4.sgr': Transport endpoint is not connected
    cp: cannot stat `shipdisp.sgr': Transport endpoint is not connected
    If I mount in foreground/debug mode, it says the following in its dying breath:
    Code:
    LOOKUP /LAPPNET/SUNSPIRE/temp/Roketz/azrael1.pil
       NODEID: 13
       unique: 195, error: 0 (Success), outsize: 136
    unique: 196, opcode: OPEN (14), nodeid: 13, insize: 48
       unique: 196, error: 0 (Success), outsize: 32
    OPEN[138747992] flags: 0x28000 /LAPPNET/SUNSPIRE/temp/Roketz/azrael1.pil
    unique: 197, opcode: READ (15), nodeid: 13, insize: 80
    READ[138747992] 8192 bytes from 0
       READ[138747992] 4181 bytes
       unique: 197, error: 0 (Success), outsize: 4197
    unique: 198, opcode: RELEASE (18), nodeid: 13, insize: 64
    RELEASE[138747992] flags: 0x28000
    unique: 199, opcode: LOOKUP (1), nodeid: 5, insize: 52
    LOOKUP /LAPPNET/SUNSPIRE/temp/Roketz/azrael4.pil
       unique: 198, error: 0 (Success), outsize: 16
    It stops there and returns terminal control to me. Trying to list the directory (/net/LAPPNET/SUNSPIRE/temp/Roketz), I get the same error message. I have to maneuver out of the directory tree and remount.
    Code:
    ls: cannot open directory .: Transport endpoint is not connected
    I've had something similar happen with gvfs, but I can't reproduce that. THIS, on the other side, happens every time.


    Any ideas?
    ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Question Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    Zorael, did you ever solve this? I'm stuck!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    3,052

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    I haven't really tried it since, gave up on it, will give it another go in the coming days.
    ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    71

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    fusesmb is sadly a bit.. err... less then reliable

    I was overjoyed when it started working for me properly on onemachine.. but now on this other machine.. i cant get it to function at all. using exact same identical configs.

    I have .smb/fusesmb.conf all set up same as the working box. But when i use the command

    Code:
    fusesmb -d /Network 
    
    Error: /usr/bin/fusesmb.cache is already running

    i get that message repeated over and over about every 20 sec.

    I also notice that the .smb/fusesmb.cache file never gets created. It does get made on my working machine.

    Also i Notice on the Working machine, the directory 'Network' is owned by my user. on the Non working machine. its owned by root after running the command.


    Some other pasteing from the error log.

    unique: 14, error: 0 (Success), outsize: 112
    unique: 15, opcode: READDIR (28), nodeid: 1, insize: 80
    unique: 15, error: -2 (No such file or directory), outsize: 16
    unique: 16, opcode: RELEASEDIR (29), nodeid: 1, insize: 64
    unique: 16, error: 0 (Success), outsize: 16
    Error: /usr/bin/fusesmb.cache is already running


    I REALLY like how fusesmb works.. but sadly it just seems to be picky

    If you need any more help in trouble shooting this let me know.
    Im off to test it on some of my other ubuntu box's and see if i can find a pattern to the failures.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    /dev/random
    Beans
    3,052

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    I suggest you pop by launchpad and post a proper bug report; that way it'll (hopefully) get the attention of the maintaining developers.
    ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    71

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    Actually I have posted bug reports on it.
    And theres also bug reports on it by other people. I still get an email about once a week on the bug reports.

    I'm not sure what the actual problem is. but it seems rather hard to track down, other disrtos have also had similer issues.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    Try this:
    Code:
    fusesmb -s /path/to/mountpoint
    it solved the problem for me (xubuntu jaunty)

    It seems that some library on witch fusesmb depends isn't thread safe. The -s switch forces fusesmb to use only one thread.

    http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=497572

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    Quote Originally Posted by albertomm View Post
    Try this:
    Code:
    fusesmb -s /path/to/mountpoint
    it solved the problem for me (xubuntu jaunty)

    It seems that some library on witch fusesmb depends isn't thread safe. The -s switch forces fusesmb to use only one thread.

    http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=497572
    THIS WORKS!!

    Sorry about the caps, try to see them as joy.

    A long while back (7.10), I couldn't get fusesmb to work, and I read (but couldn't find back) about a used library that became buggy and has remained ever since. There was a how-to about how to reinstate an even older version of the library that shipped at the time, and fusesmb worked perfect.

    Recently I tried to upgrade to 9.04, which failed, so now I have a partially upgraded 8.10, but apparently the (still) buggy library came back and I couldn't find that how-to anymore.

    Now I tried the solution you mentioned, and it works so far! Wow this is even better than forcing installation of old components.

    Thanks.
    📻 Amp.lol. No bloat, just radio. 🤘

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    38

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    Quote Originally Posted by albertomm View Post
    Try this:
    Code:
    fusesmb -s /path/to/mountpoint
    it solved the problem for me (xubuntu jaunty)

    It seems that some library on witch fusesmb depends isn't thread safe. The -s switch forces fusesmb to use only one thread.

    http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=497572
    When I try this in terminal with sudo; I recieve an error message "Permission Denied"
    Laptop: HP Pavillion DV4000 (DV4155CL)
    80GB DISK / 512MB RAM / Intel Centrino 1.6Ghz
    Intel Wired & Wireless Adapter / Intel Video

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: fuse and "Transport endpoint is not connected"

    Quote Originally Posted by Difranco1911 View Post
    When I try this in terminal with sudo; I recieve an error message "Permission Denied"
    Don't use sudo with fuse. Add your username to the group "fuse" and you will be able to use all the fuse mount programs like fusesmb, fuseiso and ntfs-3g.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •