Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 83

Thread: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    VA
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    I am pasting the instructions in here for searchs, but they will be hard to read. I suggest downloading the attachment. It's just an openoffice file gzipped.





    Most of these instructions were gathered from http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118701

    After tons of research on the problem, everything was pointing to the TV giving bad information to X. X will query a monitor for the available resolutions, refresh rates, and placement of the screen. From the articles I read, most TV's use over-scanning on everything but a VGA input which is the reason for the picture getting cut off.

    The only thing specific to the nvidia card are a couple of options needed in xorg.conf. I am sure there are equivalent options for ATI and others, so if you know them please post them so we can have everything here.

    Here are the needed nvidia options and there placements, but do not use them yet. Just write them down.

    For the Monitor section:
    Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"


    For the Device section:
    Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"


    We first have to start by using a command line tty and stopping gnome, so save everything that is open and hopefully you have a laptop to read the rest of this post off of. If not print it out.

    Hit ctl+alt+F2 to switch to tty2. Log in and

    sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop

    This will stop gnome and shutdown the GUI on tty7.

    Next type

    X -verbose 6 > ~/xlog.txt 2>&1

    This will launch X and you will see a gray screen. All output of X will be in the file xlog.txt located in your home(~) directory. You will need information out of this file to continue, so get out of the gray screen and start gdm back up.

    ctl+atl+BACKSPACE - will kill the gray screen

    sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start – will start gnome again

    Once you are back inside gnome open gedit and browse to your home directory to open xlog.txt

    Within this file we will need the Horizontal Sync and Vertical refresh rates of your TV. Find the section of the file that looks similar to :

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Frequency information for Philips FTV (DFP-0): <-- of-course this will be your TV model
    (II) NVIDIA(0): HorizSync : 15.000-50.000 kHz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VertRefresh : 48.000-62.000 Hz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): (HorizSync from EDID)

    (II) NVIDIA(0): (VertRefresh from EDID)


    Write down the HorizSync and VertRefresh values.

    Now we need to find some good working resolutions to create some modelines.

    Locate the section that is similar to below. Take note that this section states it is validating modes.

    (II) NVIDIA(0): --- Building ModePool for Philips FTV (DFP-0) ---

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080":

    (II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1080 @ 50 Hz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.25 MHz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2448

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2492, 2640

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1084

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1094, 1124

    (II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlace

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

    (II) NVIDIA(0):

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1024x768":

    (II) NVIDIA(0): 1024 x 768 @ 60 Hz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 65.00 MHz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1024, 1048

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1184, 1344

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 771

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 777, 806

    (II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

    (II) NVIDIA(0):

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080":

    (II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.25 MHz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2008

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2052, 2200

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1084

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1094, 1124

    (II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlace

    (II)NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

    Now we need to make some modelines, so grab a low resolution one like:

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "720x480":

    (II) NVIDIA(0): 720 x 480 @ 60 Hz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 27.00 MHz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 720, 736

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 798, 858

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 480, 483

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 489, 525

    (II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

    Making sure it is marked as valid, and a high resolution one like:

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080":

    (II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.25 MHz

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2008

    (II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2052, 2200

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1084

    (II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1094, 1124

    (II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlace

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

    My TV had a couple of different valid 1920 x 1080 modes. I ended up choosing the one which will run at 60Hz.

    Now to make the modelines just read down the mode from top to bottom starting at Pixel Clock. In the parenthesis you can really put what you want. That will be the identifier used in your Screens sections, but for now just follow below.

    modeline “720x480” 27.00 720 736 798 858 480 483 489 525 -hsync -vsync

    modeline “1920x1080” 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace

    Notice the H/V polarity usage for hsync and vsync.

    Now we have all the info we need to start messing with our xorg.conf file, but first make a backup of your current file. In a terminal

    sudo cp -v /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.BUP

    So lets put together everything we have. Open gedit with root permissions by pressing alt+F2 and typing

    gksudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    Below is my very simple xorg.conf file with the added Options, HorizSync, VertRefresh, and modelines.

    Section "Monitor"

    Identifier "PhilipsHDTV"

    Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "TRUE"
    # Added


    HorizSync 15-50
    # Added
    VertRefresh 48-62
    # Added


    # Modelines we created earlier

    ModeLine "720x480" 27.00 720 736 798 858 480 483 489 525 -hsync -vsync


    #KEY Modeline "MODENAME" FF H1 H2 H3 H4 V1 V2 V3 V4 FLAGS

    ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace


    EndSection



    Section "Screen"

    Identifier "Default Screen"

    Monitor "PhilipsHDTV"

    Device "gForce8600GT"



    SubSection "Display"
    # Added subsection
    Depth 24

    Modes "720x480"
    # Identifier must match modeline name from above!!
    EndSubSection

    EndSection



    Section "Module"

    Load "glx"

    EndSection



    Section "Device"

    Identifier "gForce8600GT"

    Driver "nvidia"

    Option "NoLogo" "FALSE"

    Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
    # Added
    EndSection


    In the Monitor section we added:
    Options “ExactModeTimingsDVI” “True”

    This forces X to read the timings from the modeline, not the TV.

    HorizSync with the numbers you wrote down from earlier. You do not need to include the kHz or Hz

    VertRefresh again, numbers from earlier

    modelines we created earlier. Be sure to copy the KEY above the “1920x1080” for later! Position the FF, H's, and V's like you see above.

    In the Screen section we add the SubSection “Display” with Depth and the lowest modeline we created for Modes. Remember that the Modes must match exactly what you have in your modeline as the MODENAME!!!

    In the Device section we added:

    Option “UseEDID” “FALSE”

    This tells the video card not to pull any information from the TV allowing us to manipulate the resolution and position of X.

    Save your new xorg.conf file.

    Go to tty2 again and stop gdm

    ctl+alt+F2
    sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop

    Now hopefully you used the lowest modeline, so you will notice poor resolution for the gray X screen by issuing the most complicated *nix command ever written

    X

    If you see an abnormally large X on the screen, or black bars on the side of the gray window that is a good sign. This means you video card is 1. using the modeline you enter. 2. ignoring what your TV is telling it.

    So Kill X

    ctl+alt+BACKSPACE

    Stay in tty2 and lets change your resolution to the highest one using nano:

    sudo nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    Be sure to use the -w here!!

    Once you are in the editor find the modelines you created by using the down arrow or page down key. Take note of what you named the highest valid resolution and continue to the Screen section. Change the Modes option in the SubSection “Display” to match the modeline “MODNAME” from above. Mine was “1920x1080”. Once that is changed:

    ctl+x
    answer yes to save
    X

    This time you should be at the correct resolution with the over-scanned gray X screen.

    It's time to correct the problem if you are still with me. Kill X and go back into nano

    ctl+alt+BACKSPACE
    sudo nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    At this point, I made the resolution as whack as I could to get the screen positioned correctly, so on your high resolution modeline change the H1 and V1 values to something crazy like:

    #orig ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace

    #KEY Modeline "MODENAME" FF H1 H2 H3 H4 V1 V2 V3 V4 FLAGS

    ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1800 2008 2052 2200 900 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace



    ctl+x
    answer yes to save
    X

    Now you should see a shorter and very off center gray screen. All that's left to do now is adjust the screen positioning and change the H1 and V1 to the highest values we can to fill the screen.

    I am no longer going to tell you how to get in and out of nano or start and kill X so take notes if you need them.

    To move the screen to the right, simply reduce the H2 and H3 values using the same amount for each. For example, if you adjust H2 -50 make the same adjustment for H3:

    #orig ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace

    #KEY Modeline "MODENAME" FF H1 H2 H3 H4 V1 V2 V3 V4 FLAGS

    ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1800 1958 2002 2200 900 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace


    Basically, just keep changing the numbers, saving the config, and starting and killing X until you like where the left edge of the screen is.

    To move the screen down, do the same thing for the V2 and V3 settings. Remember that a change to one means an equal change to the other.

    #orig ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace

    #KEY Modeline "MODENAME" FF H1 H2 H3 H4 V1 V2 V3 V4 FLAGS

    ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1800 1958 2002 2200 900 1034 1044 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace


    Once the top and left edge are in place, adjust the H1 and V1 values to fit the rest of the screen. My modeline ended up looking like this:

    #orig ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace

    ModeLine "1920x1080_mod" 74.25 1820 1953 1997 2200 1000 1045 1055 1124 +hsync +vsync Interlace

    So for my TV to display correctly, I lose 100 Horizontal pixels and 80 Vertical pixels.

    After you are happy with everything:

    sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start

    And you should be looking at the login screen and actually seeing the time on the bottom right!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    VA
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Good Luck!!!!

    It would be nice if xvidtune would work for us. I will be looking into that!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by hpadrick; January 10th, 2009 at 10:18 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    85

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Wow, I hope this works...can't wait to give it a shot. Thanks for all the effort you put into typing it up!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    8

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    hpadrick -

    Thanks for this post, it walked me through step by step and fixed my overscan issues!

    Unfortunately now, my tv is connected via HDMI cable, and I learned: Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
    disables HDMI audio.

    How can I go about maintaining these resolution settings and also keeping my hdmi audio?

    Thanks!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    8

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Alright, I fixed my own issue by looking up various EDID commands.

    To maintain custom timings and HDMI audio use the following:
    Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes"

    instead of
    Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    #!
    Beans
    1,749

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Quote Originally Posted by mwillams73 View Post
    I have the same vid card and in Xp ( windows) theres a seeting menu where you can fix that but there is none in Ubuntu ( intrepid) so I dont know if youll ever be able to fix it as long as Ubuntu stays years behind windows and mac
    Further, In the shites I call Vista on 1/10th of a sliver of a partition, the same card with the Micro$oft drivers do the same dam thing and I cannot get even a edid.bin dump file because those same drivers cannot load anything but a generic vga when I try a straight vga connection....

    Take your trolling back to the ******* forums please...

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    #!
    Beans
    1,749

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Quote Originally Posted by MCrittenden View Post
    Wow, I hope this works...can't wait to give it a shot. Thanks for all the effort you put into typing it up!
    Well, did it work for you?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    #!
    Beans
    1,749

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Quote Originally Posted by hpadrick View Post
    Good Luck!!!!

    It would be nice if xvidtune would work for us. I will be looking into that!
    Rick,

    I really appreciate all the work you put into this and I am going to try your solution tomorrow....

    I pulled this from my RCA 42 HD tv when I was in vga mode trying to get a edid.bin extracted...(did not work b/c nvidia X settings would not load b/c the xOrg vga drivers loaded)

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "Unknown"
    HorizSync 28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    If those are the correct HorixSync and VertRefresh, does it make finding the right modelines easier?

    Again, thank you....

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Thanks so much! I found this post after finishing my HTPC build. Needless to say I was very upset at finding no way for my screen to be fully displayed. While this took a little bit of time, your instructions were perfect. Thanks!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    VA
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Nvidia, Modelines, Overscan...8.10

    Quote Originally Posted by VastOne View Post
    Rick,

    I really appreciate all the work you put into this and I am going to try your solution tomorrow....

    I pulled this from my RCA 42 HD tv when I was in vga mode trying to get a edid.bin extracted...(did not work b/c nvidia X settings would not load b/c the xOrg vga drivers loaded)

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "Unknown"
    HorizSync 28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    If those are the correct HorixSync and VertRefresh, does it make finding the right modelines easier?

    Again, thank you....
    What video driver should be loading? From what I understand, any TV with a VGA port should offer up the correct settings for PC use if the driver is correct for the card. You will have to get the driver for your card up and running before you can pull the info you need.

    The Hsync and Vsync in the section you posted have to do with your TV timings; not modelines. In order to have a good place to start for a modeline, you will have to get the dump from X. Let me know if I can help you any further

    -Heath

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •