Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 102

Thread: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Beans
    169
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    if your like me, you'd hate the default green of the digits. you can change that by editing the 3ddesktop.conf file.

    Code:
    sudo vim /etc/3ddesktop/3ddesktop.conf
    and scroll down until you see the default configuration

    Code:
    view         default    ## this is the default if no --view specified
    zoom         on
    show_digit   on
    digit_size   100
    digit_color  green
    use_breathing false
    change these to fit your personal preferences...

    i personally turn off the digits, (change show_digit to off, duh...) and turn breathing on...it pulsates the light on the desktops.

    if you have a faster processor you can turn on "fastest"...this makes the animation smoother...

    instead of throwing everything in default, you can follow this same format and make your own views at the end of the file...

    have fun!!

    heres mine.

    Code:
    view         default    ## this is the default if no --view specified
    zoom         on
    show_digit   off
    digit_size   100
    digit_color  green
    use_breathing true
    fastest        on
    -jason

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Weston, Mo
    Beans
    28

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    L33T! it works PERFECT

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Dapper Drake Testing/

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    I'm loving this one:

    view default ## this is the default if no --view specified
    mode cylinder
    dontexit on
    zoom nozoom
    show_digit off
    digit_size 100
    digit_color green
    use_breathing false
    $ sudo chmod -R 777 /

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NC
    Beans
    29
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    Omg, this is the coolest thing ive seen in a while.

    it works perfectly for me, thanks!

    but, one question, how do you add more windows? I see that on the screen shot you have more than 4, and id like to do that.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Aldan, PA
    Beans
    552

    Smile Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    Quote Originally Posted by abyssspecter
    Omg, this is the coolest thing ive seen in a while.

    it works perfectly for me, thanks!

    but, one question, how do you add more windows? I see that on the screen shot you have more than 4, and id like to do that.
    3ddesktop will show all the desktops you have. So if you have 10 desktops, 3ddesktop will show you 10 of them. If you have 5, it will show 5.

    To change the number of desktops, you can right click on any desktop ("workspace") icon in the panel, choose preferences and then set how many do you want.
    Photography by Indians
    I'm registered Linux User # 406032

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Aldan, PA
    Beans
    552

    Lightbulb Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    Quote Originally Posted by happyponcho42
    How did you take a screenshot while in the 3d desktop mode? The printscreen which works when a desktop is selected doesn't seem to work while in the 3d desktop mode -- I'm trying to take a screenshot of what it looks like on my computer.

    EDIT - ksnapshot (sudo apt-get install ksnapshot) did the trick
    Yes that is an option. For GNOME users, they can use:
    Code:
     gnome-screenshot --delay=5
    Of course, you need to have it installed (installed by default - or use sudo apt-get install gnome-screenshot) and then use the command:
    Code:
    gnome-screenshot --delay=5
    You can set the delay to any number of seconds you want (I have set it to 5 seconds in the above command)
    Photography by Indians
    I'm registered Linux User # 406032

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    1,083
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    This is great! Finally got a video card that can handle this sort of stuff and I love it!

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Parma, OH
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    Man, how did I live this long without this? Woo Hoo!

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Beans
    1,276
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    is there a way to map this program to a key?

    Ideally i'd like to press the windows key and get this to work...

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Beans
    169
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOW TO: Switch desktops in 3D view! Cool!

    From my earlier post

    Go to System Tools > Configuration Editor.

    Open apps > metacity > keybinding commands.

    Double click on command_1, and in the value field, enter '3ddesk' (no quotes).

    Now, go to apps > metacity > global keybindings and double click on "run command_1."

    In the value enter your keyboard shortcut. I used <Control><Alt>P, but use whatever suits you...
    Hope I helped,

    -Jason
    Good at writing shell scripts? Know anything about GTK programming?
    Help out a new project at http://www.s-online.org/labels/About.html

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •