Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HP tapedrive input/output error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    HP tapedrive input/output error

    I'm trying to set a backup to tape of a machine using flexbackup. However any attempt to write to the tape drive (via either flexbackup or just tar) results in "/dev/st0: Input/output error"

    The machine seems to recognise the drive ( HP Storageworks Ultrium 448 ) and that there's a tape in it and "mt status" seems to work... "mt -f /dev/st0 rewind" or "erase" throw no errors...

    Code:
    root@stor001:/# mt status
    SCSI 2 tape drive:
    File number=0, block number=0, partition=0.
    Tape block size 0 bytes. Density code 0x42 (LTO-2).
    Soft error count since last status=0
    General status bits on (41010000):
     BOT ONLINE IM_REP_EN
    
    root@stor001:/# cat /proc/scsi/scsi
    Attached devices:
    Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
      Vendor: HL-DT-ST Model: DVDRAM GSA-4084N Rev: KS02
      Type:   CD-ROM                           ANSI  SCSI revision: 05
    Host: scsi2 Channel: 00 Id: 03 Lun: 00
      Vendor: HP       Model: Ultrium 2-SCSI   Rev: S65D
      Type:   Sequential-Access                ANSI  SCSI revision: 03
    "tell" does however

    Code:
    root@stor001:/# mt -f /dev/st0 tell
    /dev/st0: Input/output error
    Based on a forum post I found elsewhere, I tried:

    Code:
    root@stor001:/# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/nst0 bs=1024 count=10
    10+0 records in
    10+0 records out
    10240 bytes (10 kB) copied, 5.0815 s, 2.0 kB/s
    which gave the person on the forum an error but seems to work for me.

    If anyone has any suggestions, I'd appreciate it

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    407
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: HP tapedrive input/output error

    I had a similar problem with a Dell tape drive and a firmware update seemed to cure it. It wasn't the easiest thing to do though.

    Also there was a lot of dust inside the drive as it had not been used for a significant period so I also cleaned it out before upadting the firmware.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HP tapedrive input/output error

    The tape drive was working fine on the same machine a little while ago when it had windows on it.

    The HP website only has firmware updates that seem to be designed for RedHat or SUSE which I don't think will work properly in Ubuntu.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    407
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: HP tapedrive input/output error

    Quote Originally Posted by calyx View Post
    The HP website only has firmware updates that seem to be designed for RedHat or SUSE which I don't think will work properly in Ubuntu.
    That's the problem I had, but some enterprising soul had come up with a way to make the update work with Ubuntu.

    Is there an option to do the update from a boot disk? This is how I updated the bios on my dell server - the boot disk option was listed under windows on their website as you needed to download and run a windows program to create the boot disk.

    Unfortunately my HP server doesn't have a tape drive so I don't really know anything more about the HP drives.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HP tapedrive input/output error

    Quote Originally Posted by trundlenut View Post
    That's the problem I had, but some enterprising soul had come up with a way to make the update work with Ubuntu.
    Do you happen to have a link to the enterprising soul's fix?

    In the meantime, I'll look into the boot disk option. It's been a difficult problem for me to diagnose since I'm accessing the machine remotely

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HP tapedrive input/output error

    Thanks to someone on serverfault I found I needed to execute:

    Code:
    mt -f /dev/nst0 stsetoptions scsi2logical
    on each load of a new tape. Works fine now...

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •