Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Problem with mounting.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    13

    Problem with mounting.

    Lately, I have dealt with a lot of hassle trying to get my external hard drive to work. I am sure that in the process of trying to fix one thing, I ended up messing up something else.
    Basically, I can't mount both of my external drives. I can mount either one if the other isn't already mounted.
    Before that, I couldn't see the files on my drive in Windows, but one problem at a time. I need to have them both mounted at once so that I can use one as a back up drive.

    fstab
    Code:
    proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    /dev/sdd1 /media/Seagate\040External_ ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/sdc1 /media/Seagate\040External ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/sdc2 /media/sdc2 ext4 defaults 0 0
    /host/ubuntu/disks/root.disk / ext4 loop,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /host/ubuntu/disks/swap.disk none swap loop,sw 0 0
    I don't know if there is anything else that I should provide, but just let me know how to get to the information that I need to post, and I will post it asap.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lancs, United Kingdom
    Beans
    1,588
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    You have both sdc1 and sdd1 mounting at the same point: /media/Seagate\040External
    Since you already have another mount point for sdc1, i.e. /media/sdc1, I suggest you remove this line.
    Code:
    /dev/sdc1 /media/Seagate\040External ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    I did as you suggested and deleted that line, but when I plug in the drive, it gives me an error message.
    Code:
    Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
    mount: only root can mount /dev/sdc1 on /media/sdc1
    Also, the drive that I am currently using doesn't show up on the fstab. Is that a problem? Can I reset all of my mounts and remount both of my drives?
    Last edited by potatoos; August 19th, 2012 at 04:35 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    Try to change this line
    Code:
    /dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    to this
    Code:
    /dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    reboot and test again.
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    I changed the line like you suggested then rebooted. While booting up, it said that it was trying to mount drives, I pressed S to skip. It said that about three different things. One of the drives was auto mounted upon reboot (the same one that I have been using), but the other one still won't mount. I am getting this error message still:
    Code:
    Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
    mount: only root can mount /dev/sdc1 on /media/sdc1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    Hi ,
    please provide the results of these commands
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab 
    mount
    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    cat /etc/fstab

    Code:
    proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    /dev/sdd1 /media/Seagate\040External_ ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/sdc2 /media/sdc2 ext4 defaults 0 0
    /host/ubuntu/disks/root.disk / ext4 loop,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /host/ubuntu/disks/swap.disk none swap loop,sw 0 0
    mount

    Code:
    /dev/loop0 on / type ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
    udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
    tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
    none on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880)
    none on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    /dev/sda2 on /host type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=0,group_id=0,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/sebastian/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=sebastian)
    /dev/sdb1 on /media/f324a0f1-8f1d-4924-ac3b-2ccac06d571a type ext4 (rw,nosuid,nodev,uhelper=udisks)
    Last edited by potatoos; August 20th, 2012 at 12:09 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    You have to add the words user and probably auto to the options in fstab

    Code:
    /dev/sdc1 /media/sdc1 ntfs-3g auto,users,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    I am not sure you really need the options nosuid or nodev

    They add a little security, but are not necessary.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    I did what you suggested bodhi.zazen, but it still won't mount the second drive. I get this error now.

    Code:
    Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
    Unprivileged user can not mount NTFS block devices using the external FUSE
    library. Either mount the volume as root, or rebuild NTFS-3G with integrated
    FUSE support and make it setuid root. Please see more information at
    http://tuxera.com/community/ntfs-3g-faq/#unprivileged
    And this error when trying to mount it from gksudo nautilus (the drive is currently fat32 but was previously ntfs)

    Code:
    NTFS signature is missing.
    Failed to mount '/dev/sdc1': Invalid argument
    The device '/dev/sdc1' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
    Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
    partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?
    Is there no way that I could just start all the mounts over? There seems to be a lot of compatibility issues going on, and it probably has something to do with me reformatting one of the drives to several different formats (ntfs, ext4, fat32) trying to get it recognized.
    Last edited by potatoos; August 20th, 2012 at 01:38 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Problem with mounting.

    Hi ,
    you probably have right. Multiple reformats created the problem . Fat32 ? hmmm... ancient filesytem especially for a HDD. Think about to reformat the drive to NTFS , is little better.

    Try to add below command to rc.local and see how it will be going.

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/rc.local
    before exit 0 add this line
    Code:
    mount -a
    save the document and reboot your system.
    If something goes wrong , you can boot from recovery mode and click root and the give below commands to change the file
    Code:
    mount -o rw,remount /
    nano /etc/rc.local
    and delete the line mount -a
    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •