Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Change gnome-terminal default size

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    49

    Change gnome-terminal default size

    Does it annoy you that gnome-terminal does
    not remember the size when you drag it around?

    Well it annoyed me a lot so I went to #gnome and
    finally got an answer, which can be found here:
    http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=155147

    You could rename the /usr/bin/gnome-termainal
    app then create a script with the proper geometry
    and place it in /usr/bin/gnome-terminal like this:
    ~~~
    #!/usr/bin/sh
    gnome-terminal --geometry=80x15
    ~~~

    But what I chose to do is just right click on the gnome-terminal
    icon on my task bar, select propertys, then change the command to
    Command: gnome-terminal --working-directory=%f --geometry=80x15

    And its done, gnome-terminal will pop up with the size that I have
    specified, however it still wont remember a size by dragging, but
    at least now I know how to set its' default size.

    Hope this helps.
    When things are bad, ask yourself what Gandalf would do.
    But when things get just right plain weird, then you need to ask: What would Skooby Dooby do?

  2. #2

    Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    Well, there's another way of doing it.
    Take a look at gnome-terminal-launcher and you will be able to specify geometry as well as other extra command line options in GConf.

    There's also Installation and configuration instructions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Smile Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    Quote Originally Posted by viscount View Post
    Does it annoy you that gnome-terminal does
    not remember the size when you drag it around?

    Well it annoyed me a lot so I went to #gnome and
    finally got an answer, which can be found here:
    http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=155147

    You could rename the /usr/bin/gnome-termainal
    app then create a script with the proper geometry
    and place it in /usr/bin/gnome-terminal like this:
    ~~~
    #!/usr/bin/sh
    gnome-terminal --geometry=80x15
    ~~~

    But what I chose to do is just right click on the gnome-terminal
    icon on my task bar, select propertys, then change the command to
    Command: gnome-terminal --working-directory=%f --geometry=80x15

    And its done, gnome-terminal will pop up with the size that I have
    specified, however it still wont remember a size by dragging, but
    at least now I know how to set its' default size.

    Hope this helps.

    I have added the terminal to the panel (as well as other apps I use frequently). right-clicking on the icon and selecting properties allows me to add --geometry=120x50 to the command box so that terminal always opens with this geometry.
    Hope this helps.


    dog

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    9

    Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    Thanks for the tip Solves my mysery

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    189
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    What if you're using shortcuts?

    ----NM, I'll just create another run_command entry for the customized gnome-terminal command and shortcut in gconf instead of the default run_command_terminal.
    Last edited by z0mbie; January 28th, 2008 at 10:50 PM. Reason: NM
    E x a i l e : the best music player for Gnome.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NY, NY
    Beans
    77
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    Now why TF don't the gnome people put this option into Preference setting ?????
    And I'm talking about the "latest and greatest" release....

    Y'know sometimes I get the feeling there are Linux people out there who really do want to make people (specifically noobs) hate Linux
    HP Pavilion dv6700t
    Ubuntu 12.04/Unity

  7. #7
    fedex1993 is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Beans
    876

    Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    also you can just edit the launcher and att eh --geometry to the launcher

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    If you want to change permanently the gnome-terminal default size , try this:

    http://www.codealpha.net/tips/gnome/...lt-size-ubuntu

    It worked perfectly for me. Just follow the steps.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Beans
    21
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Talking Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    Ah-ha! Thanks Viscount et al. This has been bugging me for a while. nooblot is right - why isn't this an option in the Profile? "man gnome-terminal" is no help either, as it only says:

    --geometry=GEOMETRY
    X geometry specification (see "X" man page), can be specified once per window to be opened.
    So you quit and try "man X" and that doesn't work, just giving the VERY helpful:

    No manual entry for X
    See 'man 7 undocumented' for help when manual pages are not available.
    Anyway, I'm now very happy with my default 120x40 terminal.

    Thanks
    BOBSta

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Change gnome-terminal default size

    Yes, arguably the safest way is to edit the entry that launches gnome-terminal and append --geometry to it.

    That said, I just learned a clever trick to specify the default size. This is from the Fedora forum, but I tested and it works in Ubuntu as well. See post #4 at:

    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=45607

    Needless to say, backup your files before trying anything -- this is a system-wide configuration.

    incubus

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •