Page 99 of 124 FirstFirst ... 4989979899100101109 ... LastLast
Results 981 to 990 of 1236

Thread: ALSA Upgrade Script

  1. #981
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    @NWK: it sounds like you have alsa-backports-modules package installed. Remove that and run the script again. Also see: http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO_s...20%2C_or_GT240
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    I keep assuming the same about the backports, but when try to remove i get this:

    Code:
    @homeserver:~$ sudo apt-get remove linux-backports-modules-asla-'uname -r'    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Couldn't find package linux-backports-modules-asla-uname -r
    I am not sure if I am suppose to use the apt-get remove command to remove that package. Thanks again
    Last edited by NWK; July 23rd, 2010 at 06:46 PM.

  2. #982
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,783

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Use synaptic, or spell it right if using in a command (alsa != asla)

  3. #983
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    I am on Ubuntu lucid server, so no synaptic. Also I hand typed that was a typo by me in the forum. It was spelled correct in the command line.

  4. #984
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,783

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    You're using apostrophes when you should use backticks (shift + ~) e.g. - `uname -r`

  5. #985
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    28
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Wink Re: ALSA Upgrade Script - Precompiled packages available guy's & gal's

    Instead of all this time consuming geeking around, have you tried just installing the pre-compiled packages available here :

    =====>>> https://launchpad.net/~ricotz/+archive/unstable <<<=====
    Last edited by cg0191; July 24th, 2010 at 12:28 AM.

  6. #986
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,783

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script - Precompiled packages available guy's & gal's

    Quote Originally Posted by cg0191 View Post
    Instead of all this time consuming geeking around, have you tried just installing the pre-compiled packages available here :

    =====>>> https://launchpad.net/~ricotz/+archive/unstable <<<=====
    Doesn't install the kernel module
    Edit: to elaborate, I just tried installing and rebooting on a virtual machine and still get:
    Code:
    $ cat /proc/asound/version 
    Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.21.
    Last edited by Yellow Pasque; July 24th, 2010 at 01:32 AM.

  7. #987
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    18

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script - Precompiled packages available guy's & gal's

    @Temüjin,

    I did with the -d option. I still don't have any luck makin it work.

    is there anyway to make this work?

    Do I have to try it again? doing the -d option?
    Last edited by syntax-error; July 24th, 2010 at 05:57 AM.

  8. #988
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Ok, I have fixed my code using the backticks (that made me feel pretty dumb)It still told me there was no module but then asked me to remove a different module because it wasn't needed anymore. I have ran the snapshot upgrade 3 times, and also tryed the ricotz unstable package. All with no effect. I'm at a loss here. Here is a few print outs.

    Code:
    @homeserver:~$ aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    @homeserver:~$
    Code:
    @homeserver:~$ cat /proc/asound/version
    Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.22.1.
    Compiled on Jul 23 2010 for kernel 2.6.32-21-server (SMP).
    Code:
    8@homeserver:~$ sudo apt-get remove linux-backports-modules-alsa-`uname -r`
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    Package linux-backports-modules-alsa-2.6.32-21-server is not installed, so not removed
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 3 not upgraded.
    The card I am using is a Galaxy G210 512mb. nothing shows up when I aplay -l but in the alsamixer it shows HDA Nvida but says there are no controls for it.

    I just did a full fresh install of ubuntu lucid serve so I could start from scratch. I have installed current nvidia drivers, alsa, xbmc. still when I run aplay -l I does not list anything.
    Last edited by NWK; July 25th, 2010 at 12:30 AM.

  9. #989
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Update: I have not gotten the pc to recognize the HDMI


    Code:
    @homeserver:~$ aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 2: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 0: Intel ICH [NVidia CK804]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 2: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 2: Intel ICH - IEC958 [NVidia CK804 - IEC958]
      Subdevices: 1/1
    only problem now is that what ever i did to make this work broke my x11. I now get x11 <defunct> as a zombie process

  10. #990
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    132

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    everything seemed to work until I see this message after I started to install... should I just install said package above by cg0191?
    Code:
    *  alsa-utils-1.0.23 configure failed
    nevermind

    the whole process works and I restart my computer and still no sound... maybe there is another problem I guess
    Last edited by rs87424; July 25th, 2010 at 10:25 AM.

Page 99 of 124 FirstFirst ... 4989979899100101109 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •