Page 2 of 58 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 572

Thread: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    150
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by champs View Post
    I gave the Rhythmbox a go..... working my way through your signature links.

    It worked a treat, straight away, but I have noticed that when the song changes, a line from the previous line gets left behind, and pushes everything else up a line or two.

    Screenshots below are from the 5th and 9th songs, and after the last song of the album finished.
    i have been noticing the same thing.
    i just restart conky and it goes away ^_^
    Intel Pentium IV Northwood@2.4 GHz, 1 GiB RAM, 22" Samsung Monitor Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope
    AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile technology @2.2GHz, 2 GiB RAM, 320 GiB HDD Windows 7 Ultimate RC1

    please remember to thank those that helped you

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by champs View Post
    I gave the Rhythmbox a go..... working my way through your signature links.

    It worked a treat, straight away, but I have noticed that when the song changes, a line from the previous line gets left behind, and pushes everything else up a line or two.

    Screenshots below are from the 5th and 9th songs, and after the last song of the album finished.
    Can you post the relevant part of your conkyrc and the template.

    I have no issues, and am using the following:

    conkyrc:

    Code:
    TEXT
    ${if_running rhythmbox}${color3}${execibar 1 conkyRhythmbox --datatype=PP}
    ${execp conkyRhythmbox --template=/home/mark/Scripts/conky/conkyRhythmbox.template}${endif}
    template:

    Code:
    ${color3}${font Liberation Sans:style=Bold:size=10}${alignr 320}[--datatype=PT]/[--datatype=LE] - [--datatype=PP]%
    ${font Liberation Sans:style=Bold:size=12}${alignr 320}[--datatype=TI]
    ${font Liberation Sans:style=Italic:size=11}${alignr 320}[--datatype=AR]
    ${font}${alignr 320}[--datatype=AL]

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canberra, AUSTRALIA
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    rhythmbox.conf

    Code:
    TEXT
    ${font arial:size=10}${color2}RHYTHMBOX ${hr 2}$color
    ${font arial:size=8}${if_running rhythmbox}${execp conkyRhythmbox --template=/etc/conky/rhythm.template}${endif}
    rhythm.template

    Code:
    ${color1}Artist:  ${color}[--datatype=AR]
    ${color1}Album:  ${color}[--datatype=AL]
    ${color1}Title:  ${color}[--datatype=TI]
    ${color1}Position:  ${color}[--datatype=PT]/[--datatype=LE] - [--datatype=PP]%
    ${color1}Rating:  ${color}[--datatype=RT]
    ${color1}Volume:  ${color}[--datatype=VO]

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by champs View Post
    I gave the Rhythmbox a go..... working my way through your signature links.

    It worked a treat, straight away, but I have noticed that when the song changes, a line from the previous line gets left behind, and pushes everything else up a line or two.

    Screenshots below are from the 5th and 9th songs, and after the last song of the album finished.
    Quote Originally Posted by cl0ckwork View Post
    i have been noticing the same thing.
    i just restart conky and it goes away ^_^
    Well, I have tried to reproduce the error and can't, I don't think it is a problem with the script, I suspect conky has some issues with execp commands?

    Can you try changing the "execp" with "execpi 1" and then see whether the problem remains? failing that try using the exec command with an alternative template without the {} formatting text, and see whether you still get issues...

    What versions of conky are you running? I am running 1.6.1 in Hardy (compiled from source)

    Code:
    conky -v
    It might be worth asking the same questions on the conkyrc thread in case someone else has seen this before...

    I am not sure how much help I can provide here

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canberra, AUSTRALIA
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    1.5.1 on Hardy from repos

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by champs View Post
    1.5.1 on Hardy from repos
    In that case can you try using exec instead of execp to see whether this stops the issue....I suspect execp and execpi have been tweaked quite a bit since that version....

    I assume you are upgrading to Intrepid in a couple of days or so? If not I recommend you compile conky from source, see http://conky.sourceforge.net for the tarball.

    Cheers

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canberra, AUSTRALIA
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    2.6.27-7 and conky 1.61 seem to have fixed the issue.....

    I won't go into how long it took to get the new kernel to work.... painful...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    Quote Originally Posted by champs View Post
    2.6.27-7 and conky 1.61 seem to have fixed the issue.....

    I won't go into how long it took to get the new kernel to work.... painful...
    Yeah, intrepid was painful for me too, I had to install from scratch using an ext2 partition. Everythings okay now though

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    52°38'41.6"N/1°19'43.6"E
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    UPDATE

    I've published a new package labelled for Intrepid, starting at version 2.0.

    The first post has been updated, and the package is available via apt.

    To use the new intrepid "labelled" packages via apt, changes to your sources.list are needed. This:

    Code:
    deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/m-buck/ubuntu hardy main
    deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/m-buck/ubuntu hardy main
    Needs to become this:

    Code:
    deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/m-buck/ubuntu intrepid main
    deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/m-buck/ubuntu intrepid main
    Currently either hardy or intrepid packages will work with either version of ubuntu.

    However going forwards there are no guarantees that packages will continue to work with hardy, development may introduce intrepid specific dependencies. All future revisions will only be available for intrepid.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Conky Rhythmbox Python Script

    I'm using Intrepid now and this script is working, but I keep getting the following in my terminal over and over until I kill Conky. Is there a fix?

    Code:
    ERROR: Issue calling the dbus service:org.freedesktop.DBus.GLib.UnmappedError.RbShellPlayerError.Code4: Playback position not available
    ERROR: Issue calling the dbus service:org.freedesktop.DBus.GLib.UnmappedError.RbShellPlayerError.Code4: Playback position not available
    sh: Su: not found
    sh: Su: not found
    sh: Su: not found
    sh: Su: not found
    ERROR: Issue calling the dbus service:org.freedesktop.DBus.GLib.UnmappedError.RbShellPlayerError.Code4: Playback position not available
    ERROR: Issue calling the dbus service:org.freedesktop.DBus.GLib.UnmappedError.RbShellPlayerError.Code4: Playback position not available
    sh: Su: not found

Page 2 of 58 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •