Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: How do I Install k10temp?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    927
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Post How do I Install k10temp?

    1. Make a new directory and open it:
      Code:
      mkdir -p 'k10temp'
      cd 'k10temp'
    2. Download the file as k10temp.c:
      Code:
      wget -O 'k10temp.c' 'http://lists.lm-sensors.org/pipermail/lm-sensors/attachments/20080718/d51be536/attachment.bin'
    3. Create a makefile:
      Code:
      echo 'obj-m := k10temp.o
      KDIR := /lib/modules/$(shell uname -r)/build
      PWD := $(shell pwd)
      default:
      $(MAKE) -C $(KDIR) SUBDIRS=$(PWD) modules' > Makefile
    4. Download the Linux headers (you may need to specify the version):
      Code:
      sudo apt-get install linux-headers
    5. Run the make file:
      Code:
      sudo make -C /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/build M=$(pwd) modules
    6. Temporarily add the k10temp module:
      Code:
      sudo insmod k10temp.ko
    7. Test if the sensors work (do not continue if the sensors do not work):
      Code:
      sensors
    8. Permanently add the k10temp module:
      Code:
      sudo cp k10temp.ko /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/hwmon
    9. Rebuild modules.dep file:
      Code:
      sudo depmod
    10. Do some modprobing stuff:
      Code:
      sudo modprobe k10temp
    11. Add k10temp to the startup list:
      Code:
      echo 'k10temp' | sudo tee -a /etc/modules >/dev/null
    12. Restart your computer.
    13. Test if the sensors work:
      Code:
      sensors



    Original Question:
    ----------------------------------------

    I'm trying to get my fans to adjust their speed according to the temperature in my computer. I followed a guide and installed lm-senesors, but when I ran it (and after answering yes to all the questions) I receive this output:
    Code:
    #----cut here----
    # Chip drivers
    # no driver for AMD K10 thermal sensors yet
    #----cut here----
    But I can see a lot about k10temp 'patches' on the internet, I was wondering if installing one of these will get the sensor working and if so, how I can actually install the patch. I'm asking because I don't know much about any of this and would rather not have my CPU melt because of some stupid mistake I made with the fan driver.

    My Hardware:
    • Case: Antec 300
    • PSU: Antec EarthWatts 750W
    • Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P 790FX
    • CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 710 2.6GHz
    • GPU: ATi Radeon 3850
    Last edited by Penguin Guy; September 22nd, 2010 at 05:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Me too! I found a patch and tried to compile it, but make quits for some reason I can't understand. Does anyone have some info on this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Followed again very striclty this guide, and now it works!
    http://forum.ubuntuusers.de/topic/ho...hlight=k10temp

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    927
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    I don't speak Dutch...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    18

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    You DO NOT NEED to get the entire kernel source. The kernel-headers package is sufficient.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    927
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Quote Originally Posted by nstenz View Post
    You DO NOT NEED to get the entire kernel source. The kernel-headers package is sufficient.
    Thanks for the advice, I've updated the original post.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Peru, South America
    Beans
    1,486
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Can this be undone? I think my machine ran cooler before doing this? here is what sensors say:
    sensors
    acpitz-virtual-0
    Adapter: Virtual device
    temp1: +90.0°C (crit = +105.0°C)

    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1: +84.2°C (high = +70.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

    or can I cause the fan to kick on sooner, or to run more often? I have always attributed my overheating problem to my ATI Radeon HD3100 card in this laptop, but perhaps we are on track here, not sure. Any thoughts, ideas would be appreciated, I'm running some testing kernels, because normal kernels it overheats. Thanks for the how to, worked fine.

    Shane

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    927
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Quote Originally Posted by shane2peru View Post
    Can this be undone?
    Find the line k10temp in /etc/modules - remove that line and k10temp shouldn't start.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Peru, South America
    Beans
    1,486
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Quote Originally Posted by Penguin Guy View Post
    Find the line k10temp in /etc/modules - remove that line and k10temp shouldn't start.
    Thanks! That is simple enough, I thought it was something like that but couldn't remember. Nice guide!

    Shane

    EDIT: Actually with the newest kernel that I installed .35rc1 that seemed to work better than anything. Thanks.
    Last edited by shane2peru; July 14th, 2010 at 03:59 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: How do I Install k10temp?

    Hi
    Tonight's nightly update of Ubuntu 10.04 may have thrown up this problem:-

    I have k10temp installed and working (showing only four of the six cores) on my Phenom II x6 1090T.
    This evening after update I now have a constant flashing message on screen which I cannot close saying
    'Error Updating Sensor Temp1
    An error occurred while trying to
    update the value of the sensor temp1
    located at sensor://k10temp-pci-00c3/0 '

    I commented out k10temp in etc/modules but it has not disabled k10temp and the flashing warning above still shows.

    can anyone help with this one.
    Thanks
    D

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •