Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    7

    Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Maybe this has been said before, somewhere, but I never ever found it. I work at Uni IT group, and needed to get Ubuntu playing nice with our windows shares.

    This Post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=187049
    and this one: http://www.nabble.com/ntlmv2-td4691183.html
    and this one: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=428093
    all discuss this problem, with all sorts of ideas to fix it.

    We don't use Vista, but we do force NTLMv2 authentication only on our Windows XP shares for security reasons. In Vista this is the default way of sharing files. smbclient works just fine from the command line, but that is messy for our users.

    The common idea is to add
    Code:
    client ntlmv2 auth = yes
    to /etc/samba/smb.conf. This works for smbclient, but not for nautilus, for the simple reason that nautilus sources $HOME/.smb/smb.conf, NOT /etc/samba/smb.conf.

    Thus this is the fix.

    As your own user:
    Code:
    mkdir ~/.smb
    echo "client ntlmv2 auth = yes" >> ~/.smb/smb.conf
    Just to note, I do work in a domain environment. So I also added "workgroup = server" to my configuration. Doubt this will break anything for everyone else. Hope this fixes things, or at least clarifies them for some people.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    317
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Quote Originally Posted by rhys_rhaven View Post
    The common idea is to add
    Code:
    client ntlmv2 auth = yes
    to /etc/samba/smb.conf. This works for smbclient, but not for nautilus, for the simple reason that nautilus sources $HOME/.smb/smb.conf, NOT /etc/samba/smb.conf.

    Thus this is the fix.

    As your own user:
    Code:
    mkdir ~/.smb
    echo "client ntlmv2 auth = yes" >> ~/.smb/smb.conf
    I tried the above with Ubuntu 8.04, but I still got a blank panel with my Vista share.

    Someone said this was going to be fixed in Ubuntu 8.10, so I upgraded on Thursday, but it still doesn't work. I tried the above again, and now I don't even see the Vista PC. In fact, when I click on Windows Network, I get a blank panel - I no longer can even see the XP PCs or the Vista PC! I tried renaming ~/.smb/smb.conf to undo and even rebooted, but now all I get is a blank panel under Windows Network. What is wrong???
    Last edited by HDTimeshifter; November 2nd, 2008 at 06:14 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1,026
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    As the OP said, it is the Vista default authentication that does not play nice with Samba (yet).

    Try.
    http://www.nobluescreens.com/solutions/samba_vista.php

    Security policies were the problems on a friend's network.

    http://www.techiecorner.com/355/vist...-samba-or-mac/

    This is the actual link we used to get it going, I think
    http://www.builderau.com.au/blogs/co...tm?p=339270746
    Last edited by dmizer; November 7th, 2008 at 02:13 AM. Reason: corrected incomplete links

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Quote Originally Posted by Zimmer View Post
    As the OP said, it is the Vista default authentication that does not play nice with Samba (yet).

    Try.
    http://www.nobluescreens.com/solutions/samba_vista.php

    Security policies were the problems on a friend's network.

    http://www.techiecorner.com/355/vist...-samba-or-mac/

    This is the actual link we used to get it going, I think
    http://www.builderau.com.au/blogs/co...tm?p=339270746
    Hi!

    Two of this links you gave are incomplete. Would appreciate if you fix that

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,362
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Quote Originally Posted by Piupardo View Post
    Hi!

    Two of this links you gave are incomplete. Would appreciate if you fix that

    Thanks
    Fixed. They work now.

    I have included this thread in my CIFS tutorial here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=288534

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    317
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Quote Originally Posted by Zimmer View Post
    As the OP said, it is the Vista default authentication that does not play nice with Samba (yet).

    Try.
    http://www.nobluescreens.com/solutions/samba_vista.php

    Security policies were the problems on a friend's network.

    http://www.techiecorner.com/355/vist...-samba-or-mac/

    This is the actual link we used to get it going, I think
    http://www.builderau.com.au/blogs/co...tm?p=339270746
    I assume the first link is connecting to Ubuntu from Vista.

    The 2nd link still doesn't work.

    I tried following the 3rd link (which is what I'm concerned with right now - accessing Vista from Ubuntu Nautilus), but typing "secpol.msc" from the Vista search bar simply returns "No items match your search". Maybe I don't understand the non-intuitive Vista interface, but I'm not sure how to get a "run command" like in old XP. I assumed you type your command in the Vista search box to run a command???

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Quote Originally Posted by HDTimeshifter View Post
    I assume the first link is connecting to Ubuntu from Vista.

    The 2nd link still doesn't work.

    I tried following the 3rd link (which is what I'm concerned with right now - accessing Vista from Ubuntu Nautilus), but typing "secpol.msc" from the Vista search bar simply returns "No items match your search". Maybe I don't understand the non-intuitive Vista interface, but I'm not sure how to get a "run command" like in old XP. I assumed you type your command in the Vista search box to run a command???
    You can do that on a menu "Run..." from Start Menu. Just above the shut down button.

    Regards,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Thanks anyway

    I still have the same problem, can´t see my windows vista shares when browsing the network with Nautilus, but I have also read that this is a bug of Nautilus or ubuntu or samba, being worked by ubuntu.
    So I guess we'll just have to wait for a pathc/solution/update to come out.

    Best regards.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    317
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Quote Originally Posted by Piupardo View Post
    You can do that on a menu "Run..." from Start Menu. Just above the shut down button.

    Regards,
    There is no "Run..." command in Vista. I see it on my XP PC, but there is no equivalent in Vista. I hate Vista. The interface sucks - MS made a backwards move IMHO - that's one reason I went to Ubuntu instead of Vista for my new PC.

    I found it. You have to type "run" in the search field to get the run command in Vista. Still damn unintuitive, and wasted a few days before I figured that out. Unproductivity for you Microsoft!

    But wait...there's more...when I finally ran it, it doesn't work: "Windows cannot find 'secpol.msc...". F*cking POS!!!
    Last edited by HDTimeshifter; November 9th, 2008 at 05:28 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,362
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Samba Networking with Vista + Ubuntu with Nautilus

    Quote Originally Posted by HDTimeshifter View Post
    There is no "Run..." command in Vista. I see it on my XP PC, but there is no equivalent in Vista. I hate Vista. The interface sucks - MS made a backwards move IMHO - that's one reason I went to Ubuntu instead of Vista for my new PC.

    I found it. You have to type "run" in the search field to get the run command in Vista. Still damn unintuitive, and wasted a few days before I figured that out. Unproductivity for you Microsoft!

    But wait...there's more...when I finally ran it, it doesn't work: "Windows cannot find 'secpol.msc...".
    According to this thread:
    Secpol.msc does not exist in the home versions of Vista. But basically secpol.msc is just another GUI for registry settings. All settings regarding UAC can be found in the registry at HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •