Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HD-PVR - almost there, but not working inside MythTV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    183

    HD-PVR - almost there, but not working inside MythTV

    Happy New Decade, everyone!

    I'm running Mythbuntu 9.10, normal repos.

    The HD-PVR seems installed correctly. When I
    Code:
    cat /dev/video1 > test1.ts
    the resulting file is playable with video and sound.

    And I have the channel changing bit working, too
    Code:
    mythchanger -c 750
    changes the channel, and I entered "mythchanger -c " as my channel change command in MythBackend.

    I believe I've set everything up correctly in MythBackend - I'm getting all the channels from schedules direct, etc.

    I can record and watch live TV with no problem on my ATSC tuner.

    But I can't record or watch anything with the HD-PVR. The channel doesn't change, no data is recorded, etc.

    Does anyone have any ideas where to look next? What & where is the best logfile to start with?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    13

    Re: HD-PVR - almost there, but not working inside MythTV

    I would look at the output of your mythbackend log

    tail -50 /var/log/mythtv/mythbackend.log


    It seems odd you can watch live tv but not record (My understanding is liveTV is essentially the same as recording)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    183

    Re: HD-PVR - almost there, but not working inside MythTV

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuffinora View Post
    I would look at the output of your mythbackend log
    Thanks - I'll do that.

    It seems odd you can watch live tv but not record
    Using the HD-PVR I can not watch OR record.

    I mentioned that I can watch AND record from my ATSC tuner just to indicate that my mythtv is working normally outside of the HD-PVR.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    183

    Re: HD-PVR - almost there, but not working inside MythTV

    It seems to be working now...maybe all it needed was a reboot.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    137

    Re: HD-PVR - almost there, but not working inside MythTV

    As you i can create a file using the cat command. I can't watch TV nor record. Can you help me by telling me how you install your hdpvr on your system.

    Do you change config files, do you compile something, do you update firmware? or everything work out of the box?

    Thanks
    Last edited by Kheops_74; March 7th, 2010 at 02:40 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    137

    Re: HD-PVR - almost there, but not working inside MythTV

    Found the problem : "The error in the above log is that you have set the "preset tuner to
    channel" setting for the HD-PVR... read the tooltip for it carefully--
    it specifically cautions you that you should only set it on a device
    with a tuner-- the HD-PVR has no tuner."

    You don't have to put a preset channel.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •