Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    As this was a issue for most Karmic users I thought of writing this, Hope this will help you guys.

    First open a terminal
    Applications >> Accesories >> Terminal
    in the terminal type :
    1)
    Code:
     $ xrandr
    (without the $ mark)
    this will display the allowed resolutions
    something like this :

    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA1 connected 800x600+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 267mm x 200mm
    800x600 85.1* +
    640x480 75.0 60.0
    720x400 70.1
    then type
    2)
    Code:
     $ cvt 1024 768
    (any resolution that you want similar to this)

    the output will be similar to this :
    # 1024x768 59.92 Hz (CVT 0.79M3) hsync: 47.82 kHz; pclk: 63.50 MHz
    Modeline "1024x768_60.00" 63.50 1024 1072 1176 1328 768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync

    3)
    Code:
     $ xrandr --newmode <Modeline>
    (copy the modeline of the previous output to the place mode line)
    for example :
    Code:
    $ xrandr --newmode "1024x768_60.00"   63.50  1024 1072 1176 1328  768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync
    4)
    Code:
    $ xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768_60.00
    (here for VGA1 you have to use what ever that was there for $ xrandr output in step 1)

    5)
    Code:
     $xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768_60.00 
    (replace VGA1 accordingly, remember to use the numbers within inverted commas in step 3 , after --newmode for 1024x768_60.00 )

    ***Running these would change your resolution but this is temporary.these steps were done to make sure that these commands work . After step 5 you should see the resolution change.If this is successful proceed to the next step


    6)
    Code:
    $ sudo gedit /etc/gdm/Init/Default
    (this will ask for your root password type the password and a text editor will appear)
    in this you will see a text line like this
    PATH=/usr/bin:$PATH
    OLD_IFS=$IFS
    just below this paste the step 3 to 5 commands
    and then save it.

    example :
    #!/bin/sh
    # Stolen from the debian kdm setup, aren't I sneaky
    # Plus a lot of fun stuff added
    # -George

    PATH=/usr/bin:$PATH
    OLD_IFS=$IFS
    xrandr --newmode "1024x768" 70.00 1024 1072 1176 1328 768 771 775 798 -hsync +vsync

    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1024x768_60.00

    xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768


    if [ -x '/usr/bin/xsplash' ];

    then
    /usr/bin/xsplash --gdm-session --daemon
    this worked in karmic ......I think this will be helpful to you if you want know more about xrandr


    If step 6 isn't working then read this post by mpatrick
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1364460&page=5
    Thank you mpatrick..
    Last edited by sharaq; February 1st, 2010 at 03:53 PM. Reason: Entered a workaround for step 6 if incase its not working.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    67
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Question Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    This worked great for me - except that the resolution reverted after a restart!

    Even after I checked that I had entered the info as per the last step.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    28

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    What if the resolution I need is higher than the maximum shown by xrandr?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    I don't think you can set a resolution higher than the max shown by xrandr - EVEN if you have the exact drivers for your gfx card . . . but I might be wrong

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    You can have a "virtual" resolution. Meaning the screen will scroll as you approach the borders.

    I use this script to enable/disable between 1024x600 to 1024x768

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    function pan-mode {
        echo `xrandr --prop | grep "current"`
        }
    
    function pan-enable {
        echo Enabling VGA output
         xrandr --output LVDS1 --panning 1024x768
        }
    function pan-disable {
        echo Disabling VGA output
         xrandr --output LVDS1 --panning 1024x600
        }
    
    ### MAIN ###
    case $1 in 
        on)  pan-enable ;;
        off) pan-disable ;;
        status)  pan-mode ;;
        *)   echo "*usage: $0 on|off|status"    ;;
    esac

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    67
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    I thought the whole point was that we are trying to ADD resolutions that may not be recognised as being available?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    LCD (all portables and flat screens) can't display a higher resolution of what's designed.
    They contain a fix number of pixels, so max resolution is determined by the physical device.
    CRT (the old tube screen) can go basically to any resolution. Limitation is the card, as they don't have physical pixels, but a cathodic ray that can draw on the screen.

    Hope it clarifies the difference between "real" resolution and "virtual" resolution.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    67
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Unhappy Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    I do not dispute that - but I thought we were trying to add resolution that is possible, but not recognised. I ran Ubuntu with a resolution of 1024x768 (so I know its possible) until an update and now the highest res I am told is available is 800x600. I can acgieve 1024x768 using the method above but have to do this each time I restart, despite the extra step above!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    AJH101 sorry, seems two different questions/answers are been discussed.
    Regarding to resolution non available after boot, you may want to ensure /etc/gdm/Init/Default is executed properly. "gdm" has been chaged significantly with 9.10.
    One way to verify is to add:
    touch /var/tmp/some-file-that-doesnt-exist
    into /etc/gdm/Init/Default and see if the file /var/tmp/some-file-that-doesnt-exist is created after reboot.
    If not, then /etc/gdm/Init/Default is not properly executed.

    See http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1306696
    Last edited by wizel; January 9th, 2010 at 01:30 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    67
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Smile Re: [SOLVED]Increase monitor resolution

    Hmm very interesting. I confess however this is really beyond me. Do I have to add those two lines of code somewhere? Can I just add them onto the end of a file? I can follow instructions but they need to be v e r y s l o w a n d c l e a r Thanks.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •