Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    80

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Fix for the key mapping problem:

    Edit the file: /etc/vmware/config

    Add the line:
    xkeymap.nokeycodeMap = true

    See these links for more details:

    Vmware Server 2.0 breaks keyboard mapping on Ubuntu 8.10
    http://blogs.unbolt.net/index.php/br...oard-mappin-10

    Some keys does not work on in the guest
    http://communities.vmware.com/thread/177010

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    not sure why it does not work

    i put a couple screen shots in showing how it brings up a server window for the vm's.

    running the shell script in a terminal window for me shows this

    I also had this fail similarly, but solved it by setting and launching ff like:

    Code:
    export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=force; firefox https://127.0.0.1:8333
    It still throws the errors, but launches correctly *and* fixes the mouse issue

    -Stuart

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    17

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by doug-M View Post
    hmm so you have no ld-library-path
    sry messing with vmware breaks my shift alt and ctrl keys right now so no caps.

    so i found that /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libexpat.so.0 is actually a directory not a file, so adding /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libexpat.so.0 to the ld-library-path got it farther, after adding about 6 more paths to it, some in the firefox extensions directory, allowed it to start.

    unfortunately no success.

    i did notice one thing, it appears to be happier in the upper left corner of the console, i saw other people mentioning they have a 640x480 window where the mouse works. that might be what is happening to me.

    I had to do two things to solve these issues for me:

    1. I added 'xkeymap.nokeycodeMap = true' to /etc/vmware/config. This fixed the keyboard problems.

    2. The mouse issue: Just adding 'export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=yes' caused the library issue for me as well. The following script makes vmware use it's own GTK libs and adds the missing libraries to the LD_LIBRARY_PATH, so that they are found:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    ################################################## ##############################
    # Call VMWare Server's Remote Console in a clean GTK setup.
    ################################################## ##############################
    
    # Clean GTK setup for VMWare
    
    export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=yes
    export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=true
    
    # Find console executable in Firefox plugins.
    vmrc="$(find "$HOME/.mozilla/firefox" -name vmware-vmrc -type f -perm -111 | tail -1)"
    [ -x "$vmrc" ] || exit 1
    
    VMLIB=$(dirname "$vmrc")
    VMLIB=$(dirname "$VMLIB")/lib
    
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$VMLIB/libexpat.so.0:$VMLIB/libsexymm.so.2:$VMLIB/libview.so.2:$VMLIB/libvmwarebase.so.0:$VMLIB/libvmwareui.so.0:$VMLIB/libgvmomi.so.0
    
    set -x
    cd "$(dirname "$vmrc")" && "$vmrc" -h 127.0.0.1:8333
    This works for me.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    7
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by ManfredU View Post
    I had to do two things to solve these issues for me:

    1. I added 'xkeymap.nokeycodeMap = true' to /etc/vmware/config. This fixed the keyboard problems.

    2. The mouse issue: Just adding 'export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=yes' caused the library issue for me as well. The following script makes vmware use it's own GTK libs and adds the missing libraries to the LD_LIBRARY_PATH, so that they are found:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    ################################################## ##############################
    # Call VMWare Server's Remote Console in a clean GTK setup.
    ################################################## ##############################
    
    # Clean GTK setup for VMWare
    
    export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=yes
    export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=true
    
    # Find console executable in Firefox plugins.
    vmrc="$(find "$HOME/.mozilla/firefox" -name vmware-vmrc -type f -perm -111 | tail -1)"
    [ -x "$vmrc" ] || exit 1
    
    VMLIB=$(dirname "$vmrc")
    VMLIB=$(dirname "$VMLIB")/lib
    
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$VMLIB/libexpat.so.0:$VMLIB/libsexymm.so.2:$VMLIB/libview.so.2:$VMLIB/libvmwarebase.so.0:$VMLIB/libvmwareui.so.0:$VMLIB/libgvmomi.so.0
    
    set -x
    cd "$(dirname "$vmrc")" && "$vmrc" -h 127.0.0.1:8333
    This works for me.
    This combination worked for me, too, except the VM launches in its own window and not through the web console. I'll take what I can get though.

    sandra

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    80

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by digital_sabine View Post
    This combination worked for me, too, except the VM launches in its own window and not through the web console. I'll take what I can get though.

    sandra
    You can use this to get the mouse problem fixed when launching from the main VMWare web console.

    (change username to your account name)

    /home/username/.mozilla/firefox/df34789dfgj/extensions/VMwareVMRC@vmware.com/plugins/lib

    Then edit the file:
    wrapper-gtk24.sh

    Add the following lines near the top of the wrapper-gtk24.sh file:
    Code:
    VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK='force'
    export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK="force"
    Note this will probably get overwritten next time you update VMWare.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    I am switching over to vmware 3 player.
    you can create, edit and play vm machines
    so far i think the networking is faster than vmware server. I know this because i am streaming video over the network using tversity in xp.
    there was no pain in installing it and no mouse issues

    I dont think you can create snapshots, but then what you will have to do is make a copy of the vm.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Have successfully installed vmware server.

    Ive run the script to start the vmware console but nothing happens ?

    Same happens when i use sudo as well, script is executable too.

    Do i need to manually donload the firefox vmware plugin ? If so where from ?

    $ cat ./start-VMware-console.sh
    #!/bin/bash
    ################################################## ##############################
    # Call VMWare Server's Remote Console in a clean GTK setup.
    # Author: Holger
    # URL: http://shellack.de/info/content/vmwa...onsole-failure
    ################################################## ##############################

    # Clean GTK setup for VMWare
    export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=yes

    # Find console executable in Firefox plugins.
    vmrc="$(find "$HOME/.mozilla/firefox" -name vmware-vmrc -type f -perm -111 | tail -1)"
    [ -x "$vmrc" ] || exit 1

    set -x
    cd "$(dirname "$vmrc")" && "$vmrc" -h 127.0.0.1:8333

    laptop:~$ sh start-VMware-console.sh
    laptop:~$

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    80

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Quote Originally Posted by forbzie22 View Post
    Do i need to manually donload the firefox vmware plugin ? If so where from ?
    (from memory)

    Try opening the vmware server console
    http://localhost:8222/

    Then start a vmware machine and go to the console tab.
    When you click on the console area it should prompt you to install the plugin into your browser.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    I have found 2 ways to fix the "mouse grab" bug:

    1. Edit the VMware GTk wrapper script:

    Code:
    Open the script for editing:
    
    ~$ vi $(find ~ -name 'VMwareVMRC@vmware.com')/plugins/lib/wrapper-gtk24.sh
    
    Add the following lines after the first blank line
    
    # Fix "mouse grab" bug
    VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK='force'
    export VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK="force"
    After that you can start Firefox and goto "https://127.0.0.1:8333"

    2. Or modify the "start-VMware-console.sh" given further in this thread:

    Code:
    Replace the following line
    vmrc="$(find "$HOME/.mozilla/firefox" -name vmware-vmrc -type f -perm -111 | tail -1)"
    
    by this one:
    vmrc="$(find "$HOME/.mozilla/firefox" -name vmware-vmrc -type f -perm -111 | head -1)"
    And start the script...


    The disavantage of 2nd is that it starts the web console directly, without the browser...

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: vmware server2.02 workaround for karmic 9.10

    Problem in my console "Operating system not found"

    I have just installed VMware windows server 2003 and received this error message!

    My Ubuntu is release Intripid 8.10, I have got 2 processor 2*2Ghz and 4 GB Ram.

    When I have created my virtual Machine, I power on the VM and install windows tools but same PB and I didn't find any subject on that one!
    If you cannot help me just tell me where will I find some good information?

    my computer disposition:
    CD-RW/DVD-ROM Drive
    Floppy Drive
    160 GB Media
    Filesystem(all VMware install)

    Thanks.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •